Regional results

CandidatePartyVote CountVote ShareElected
Bill MauroLIB1091337.66%X
John RaffertyNDP1087737.54%
Rebecca JohnsonPC591420.41%
Russ AegardGRN12714.39%
October 11, 2:25:56 AM EDT 193 of 193 polls reporting
About these figures:
Unofficial results were updated at the time shown. For more recent results, visit Elections Ontario. The CBC does not endorse and is not responsible for the content of external sites. External links will open in a new window.

Thunder Bay - Atikokan (090)

Russ Aegard Green
Rebecca Johnson PC
Bill Mauro Liberal
John Rafferty NDP

Thunder Bay - Atikokan (090)

This sprawling northern riding is one of the least densely populated in the province.

Aside from the city of Thunder Bay, which serves as the urban centre, the town of Atikokan is the only other major population area. The Fort William Indian Reserve is also within the riding, which holds Ontario's fifth highest aboriginal population.

In the 1999 redistribution, the new riding of Thunder Bay-Atikokan combined the old Fort William riding with small portions of the Lake Nipigon, Port Arthur and Rainy River ridings.

From Elections Ontario:
External link opens in a new window Thunder Bay - Atikokan [HTML] [PDF, 385KB]
( Acrobat Reader required - download free Acrobat Reader.)

Political History:

New Democrat Iain Angus won the Fort William riding in 1975, beating Tory incumbent Jim Jessiman by only 953 votes. In 1977, Tory Mickey Hennessy defeated Angus, and was re-elected in 1981 and 1985.

Liberal Lyn McLeod beat Hennessy in 1987, and went on to serve in the David Peterson cabinet. Re-elected in 1990, she succeeded Peterson as Liberal leader in 1992 but led the party to defeat to Mike Harris's Tories in 1995. McLeod continued to represent Fort William following her resignation as Liberal leader in 1996, and was re-elected in the new riding of Thunder Bay-Atikokan in 1999 by a margin of more than 14,000 votes.

McLeod decided not to run again in the 2003 election.

Liberal Bill Mauro filled the void with a dominant win, beating NDP challenger John Rafferty by 11,147 votes.

(The CBC does not endorse and is not responsible for the content of external sites. External links will open in a new window.External link opens in a new window)

Go to the Top

Overall Election Results
PartyElectedLeadingTotalVote Share
Last Update:October 11, 2:25:56 AM EDT

District Profiles