Regional results

CandidatePartyVote CountVote ShareElected
Rick BartolucciLIB1929758.78%X
Dave BattainoNDP892527.19%
Louis DelongchampPC26037.93%
David SylvestreGRN15964.86%
Carita Murphy-MarketosFCP2940.9%
David PopescuIND1150.35%
October 11, 2:25:56 AM EDT 248 of 248 polls reporting
About these figures:
Unofficial results were updated at the time shown. For more recent results, visit Elections Ontario. The CBC does not endorse and is not responsible for the content of external sites. External links will open in a new window.

Sudbury (088)

Rick Bartolucci Liberal
Dave Battaino NDP
Louis Delongchamp PC
Carita Murphy-Marketos FCP
David Popescu Independent
David Sylvestre Green

Sudbury (088)

This northern urban riding relies on mining for the bulk of its employment and was long the headquarters for such companies such as Inco (bought by Brazil's CVRD in 2006) and Falconbridge Ltd. (which was taken over by the Swiss mining giant Xstrata PLC in 2006 and became the Toronto-based Xstrata Nickel).

The riding consists of that part of city of Sudbury lying north of Highway 69, Long Lake Road and the northern boundary of Township of Broder.

According to the 1996 census, 23 per cent of residents list French as the mother tongue.

In the 1999 redistribution, the new riding of Sudbury combined 25 per cent of Sudbury East with the old Sudbury riding.

From Elections Ontario:
External link opens in a new window Sudbury [HTML] [PDF, 625KB]
( Acrobat Reader required - download free Acrobat Reader.)

Political History:

The old Sudbury East riding was held by the NDP for more than three decades, first by Elie Martel (1967-1987) and then by his daughter, Shelley Martel, from 1987-1999. (Shelley Martel won the Nickel Belt riding after the 1999 redistribution and again in 2003.)

In the old Sudbury riding, Liberal Elmer Sopha won in 1959, 1963 and 1967. In 1971, Bud Germa beat Sopha to take the seat for the NDP. Germa was re-elected in 1975 and 1977, but lost to Tory candidate Jim Gordon in 1981. Gordon was re-elected in 1985. Sterling Campbell won the seat for the Liberals in 1987, only to lose it in 1990 to New Democrat Sharon Murdock.

Rick Bartolucci reclaimed the riding for the Liberals in 1995 and won dominating victories in the redistributed riding in 1999 and 2003. In the latter contest, he routed Tory Mila Wong by 19,563 votes. He became northern development and mines minister in 2003.

(The CBC does not endorse and is not responsible for the content of external sites. External links will open in a new window.External link opens in a new window)

Go to the Top

Overall Election Results
PartyElectedLeadingTotalVote Share
Last Update:October 11, 2:25:56 AM EDT

District Profiles