Regional results

CandidatePartyVote CountVote ShareElected
Jim WilsonPC2181150.12%X
Steven FishmanLIB1133526.05%
Peter EllisGRN505111.61%
Katy AustinNDP40819.38%
Philip BenderLTN6531.5%
Steven TaylorFCP3320.76%
Owen FergusonIND2570.59%
October 11, 2:25:56 AM EDT 300 of 308 polls reporting
About these figures:
Unofficial results were updated at the time shown. For more recent results, visit Elections Ontario. The CBC does not endorse and is not responsible for the content of external sites. External links will open in a new window.

Simcoe - Grey (85)

Katy Austin NDP
Philip Bender Libertarian
Peter Ellis Green
Owen Ferguson Independent
Steven Fishman Liberal
Steven Taylor FCP
Jim Wilson PC

Simcoe - Grey (18)

This riding is located on south shore of Georgian Bay and includes Wasaga Beach, Thornbury, Collingwood, Flesherton, Markdale and Creemore.

This popular summer resort destination depends on tourism and manufacturing as primary sources of employment.

In the 1999 redistribution, the new riding Simcoe-Grey combined small parts of Grey-Owen Sound, Simcoe Centre and Simcoe East with almost all of Simcoe West.

From Elections Ontario:
External link opens in a new window Simcoe - Grey [HTML] [PDF, 253KB]
( Acrobat Reader required - download free Acrobat Reader.)

Political History:

In the riding of Dufferin-Simcoe, which would eventually become much of the new riding of Simcoe West, the only Liberal ever elected was Wilfrid Davy Smith in 1934.

He was defeated in 1937 by Tory A.W. Downer, who went on to win the next 10 elections. Downer was succeeded by fellow Tory George McCague, who won in 1975, 1977, 1981 and 1985.

In 1987, Tory George McCague defeated Liberal Gary Johnson in the new Simcoe West riding by a slim 306 votes. Jim Wilson won the seat for the Tories in 1990, 1995 and 1999.

Wilson won again in 2003, beating Liberal Mark Redmond by 8,605 votes.

(The CBC does not endorse and is not responsible for the content of external sites. External links will open in a new window.External link opens in a new window)

Go to the Top

Overall Election Results
PartyElectedLeadingTotalVote Share
Last Update:October 11, 2:25:56 AM EDT

District Profiles