Regional results

CandidatePartyVote CountVote ShareElected
Gerry PhillipsLIB1655257.3%X
John Del GrandePC742125.69%
Yvette BlackburnNDP309110.7%
George PappasGRN13354.62%
Max WangFCP4891.69%
October 11, 2:25:56 AM EDT 161 of 190 polls reporting
About these figures:
Unofficial results were updated at the time shown. For more recent results, visit Elections Ontario. The CBC does not endorse and is not responsible for the content of external sites. External links will open in a new window.

Scarborough - Agincourt (080)

Yvette Blackburn NDP
John Del Grande PC
George Pappas Green
Gerry Phillips Liberal
Max Wang FCP

Scarborough - Agincourt (080)

This riding is located in the northeast area of Toronto and boasts Ontario's second-most ethnically diverse population, with 76.6 per cent identified as visible minorities. More than 28 per cent have Chinese as their ethnic origin, but there are also significant numbers of Tamils, Sri Lankans, Italians and Greeks.

Its boundaries are Steeles Avenue (the Toronto city limits) in the north and Ellesmere Road in the south, Victoria Park Avenue in the west and the CN Rail line in the east.

Small business and light industry account for most of the economic activity in the riding.

In the 1999 redistribution, the new riding added about 15 per cent of Scarborough-Ellesmere to the existing Scarborough-Agincourt.

From Elections Ontario:
External link opens in a new window Scarborough - Agincourt [HTML] [PDF, 158KB]
( Acrobat Reader required - download free Acrobat Reader.)

Political History:

Liberal Gerry Phillips has won every election in Scarborough-Agincourt since its creation in 1987. In 2003, he trounced Tory Yolanda Chan by 11,834 votes. He has been appointed to numerous cabinet portfolios during his tenure, including becoming government services minister in Dalton McGuinty's government in June 2005.

(The CBC does not endorse and is not responsible for the content of external sites. External links will open in a new window.External link opens in a new window)

Go to the Top

Overall Election Results
PartyElectedLeadingTotalVote Share
Last Update:October 11, 2:25:56 AM EDT

District Profiles