Regional results

CandidatePartyVote CountVote ShareElected
Norm MillerPC1734347.17%X
Brenda RhodesLIB981926.71%
Sara HallNDP501513.64%
Matt RichterGRN458912.48%
October 11, 2:25:56 AM EDT 240 of 240 polls reporting
About these figures:
Unofficial results were updated at the time shown. For more recent results, visit Elections Ontario. The CBC does not endorse and is not responsible for the content of external sites. External links will open in a new window.

Parry Sound - Muskoka (069)

Sara Hall NDP
Norm Miller PC
Brenda Rhodes Liberal
Matt Richter Green

Parry Sound - Muskoka (069)

This largely rural riding along the eastern shores of Georgian Bay has a predominantly an anglophone population, with 92 per cent of residents calling English their mother tongue.

The riding runs from the Severn River in the southwest to Lake Nipissing in the northeast, with Algonquin Park running through most of the eastern part. Some of the larger communities include Parry Sound, Gravenhurst, Huntsville and Bracebridge. The riding also contains many native reserves.

This area's many lakes, including Lake Muskoka, Lake Joseph and Lake of Bays, make tourism a major industry.

In the 1999 redistribution, the new riding of Parry Sound-Muskoka combined two-thirds of Muskoka-Georgian Bay with two-thirds of Parry Sound and a small portion of Victoria- Haliburton.

From Elections Ontario:
External link opens in a new window Parry Sound - Muskoka [HTML] [PDF, 486KB]
( Acrobat Reader required - download free Acrobat Reader.)

Political History:

In the old riding of Muskoka, Tory Frank Miller was elected in 1971, 1975, 1977, 1981 and 1985. After becoming party leader in 1985, Miller served briefly as premier; his minority government was toppled by a Liberal/NDP coalition shortly after the general election of 1985. The riding was redistributed and renamed Muskoka-Georgian Bay in 1987.

In the riding of Muskoka-Georgian Bay, Liberal Ken Black won in 1987. In 1990, the riding went to New Democrat Dan Waters. Tory Bill Grimmett won in the seat in 1995.

Tories have enjoyed a non-stop string of victories in the Parry Sound riding dating back to 1951. Tory Ernie Eves, who went on to hold a number of cabinet posts before becoming premier from May 2002 to October 2003, won his first election here in 1981.

Eves went on to win in every subsequent campaign, including after the redistribution, in 1999.

When he resigned (temporarily, as it turned out) from provincial politics in 2001, the seat was won in a byelection by Frank Miller's son, Norm, also a Tory. Norm Miller had little trouble keeping his seat in 2003 as he beat Liberal challenger Dan Waters by more than 5,000 votes.

(The CBC does not endorse and is not responsible for the content of external sites. External links will open in a new window.External link opens in a new window)

Go to the Top

Overall Election Results
PartyElectedLeadingTotalVote Share
Last Update:October 11, 2:25:56 AM EDT

District Profiles