Regional results

CandidatePartyVote CountVote ShareElected
Cheri DiNovoNDP1813644.63%X
Sylvia WatsonLIB1190029.29%
David HutcheonPC601314.8%
Bruce HearnsGRN39379.69%
Zork HunLTN3270.8%
Marilee KiddFCP3220.79%
October 11, 2:25:56 AM EDT 249 of 249 polls reporting
About these figures:
Unofficial results were updated at the time shown. For more recent results, visit Elections Ontario. The CBC does not endorse and is not responsible for the content of external sites. External links will open in a new window.

Parkdale - High Park (068)

Cheri DiNovo NDP
Bruce Hearns Green
Zork Hun Libertarian
David Hutcheon PC
Marilee Kidd FCP
Sylvia Watson Liberal

Parkdale - High Park (068)

This southwest Toronto riding includes mansions along the Humber River and boarding houses for former psychiatric patients in the Parkdale neighbourhood.

The riding extends from the Canadian Pacific Railway line in the north to Lake Ontario in the south, the Humber River in the west to the Canadian National Exhibition grounds in the east.

It is home to a mix of longtime and new Canadians, with an immigrant population of more than 44 per cent. It also has the greatest share of Polish speakers in the province.

As a result of the 1999 redistribution, the new riding of Parkdale-High Park combined almost all of High Park-Swansea with 60 per cent of Parkdale and 20 per cent of York South.

From Elections Ontario:
External link opens in a new window Parkdale - High Park [HTML] [PDF, 214KB]
( Acrobat Reader required - download free Acrobat Reader.)

Political History:

New Democrat Ed Ziemba represented the old riding of High-Park Swansea from 1975 to 1981. Tory Yuri Shymko won in 1981 and 1985, only to lose to Liberal David Fleet in 1987. NDP candidate Elaine Ziemba defeated Fleet in 1990, but lost to Tory Derwyn Shea in 1995.

In the old riding of Parkdale, the NDP's Jan Dukzta won in 1971, 1975 and 1977. In 1981, Liberal Tony Ruprecht defeated Dukzta by just 921 votes. Ruprecht was re-elected in 1985, 1987, 1990 and 1995.

In the old riding of High Park, Tory Leader George Drew won the seat in 1943 and 1945, serving as premier from 1943 to 1948. The riding was won in 1948 by William (Bible Bill) Temple of the Co-operative Commonwealth Federation and Drew went on to become leader of the federal Conservatives. A.H. Cowling took the seat for the Tories in 1951, 1955, 1959 and 1963. He was defeated in 1967 by former coroner Morton Shulman, a New Democrat who was re-elected in 1971. The riding was redistributed and renamed High Park-Swansea for the 1975 election.

Liberal Gerard Kennedy, who was first elected to the legislature in a 1996 byelection in York South, won the new riding of Parkdale-High Park in 1999, easily defeating Tory Annamarie Castrilli with almost 55 per cent of the total vote.

Kennedy won again in 2003, routing Tory Stephen Snell by more than 16,000 votes. He was named education minister in October 2003. He resigned that post and later, his seat in the riding to run for the federal Liberal leadership that eventually went to Stéphane Dion.

New Democrat Cheri Di Novo won the September 2006 byelection resulting from Kennedy's resignation.

(The CBC does not endorse and is not responsible for the content of external sites. External links will open in a new window.External link opens in a new window)

Go to the Top

Overall Election Results
PartyElectedLeadingTotalVote Share
Last Update:October 11, 2:25:56 AM EDT

District Profiles