Regional results

CandidatePartyVote CountVote ShareElected
Jim WatsonLIB2273250.58%X
Mike PattonPC1431431.85%
Lynn HamiltonNDP43629.71%
Martin HydeGRN27726.17%
John PachecoFCP5591.24%
Robert Gilles GauthierIND2010.45%
October 11, 2:25:56 AM EDT 285 of 296 polls reporting
About these figures:
Unofficial results were updated at the time shown. For more recent results, visit Elections Ontario. The CBC does not endorse and is not responsible for the content of external sites. External links will open in a new window.

Ottawa West - Nepean (066)

Robert Gilles Gauthier Independent
Lynn Hamilton NDP
Martin Hyde Green
John Pacheco FCP
Mike Patton PC
Jim Watson Liberal

Ottawa West - Nepean (066)

This urban Ottawa riding on the south shore of the Ottawa River and Lac Deschenes includes Bayshore, Crystal Beach, Crystal Bay, Centrepointe, Cityview, Britannia, Carlington and Lincoln Heights. Its largest employer is the federal government.

Its borders extend from Shelbourne Road, Maitland Avenue and Merivale Road in the north and east, to Richmond Road in the south.

In the 1999 redistribution, the new riding of Ottawa West-Nepean combined almost 40 per cent of Nepean and 20 per cent of Ottawa-Rideau with 75 per cent of Ottawa West.

From Elections Ontario:
External link opens in a new window Ottawa West - Nepean [HTML] [PDF, 214KB]
( Acrobat Reader required - download free Acrobat Reader.)

Political History:

In the riding of Ottawa-West, Tory Donald Morrow was elected in 1955, 1959, 1963, 1967, 1971 and 1975. Reuben Baetz won the next three terms for the Tories in 1977, 1981 and 1985.

Bob Chiarelli took the seat for the Liberals in 1987, 1990 and 1995, but resigned in 1997 to run for regional chair (and was eventually elected mayor of Ottawa). Liberal Alex Cullen won the resulting byelection. In 1998, Cullen was kicked out of the Liberal caucus for voting against the Calgary Accord, a national unity agreement drafted by premiers from every province except Quebec. Cullen subsequently joined the NDP.

In the riding of Nepean, Liberal Hans Daigeler won in 1987 and 1990, but was defeated in 1995 by Tory John Baird.

After the redistribution, in 1999, former Ottawa South MPP Gary Guzzo won Ottawa West-Nepean for the Tories, unseating Cullen. Guzzo was a magnet for controversy during his time in the riding, including saying he idolized former U.S. senator Joseph McCarthy and being caught with fabricated endorsements in some campaign literature. He lost the 2003 election to Liberal Jim Watson. In June 2005, Watson was appointed Ontario's first health promotion minister.

(The CBC does not endorse and is not responsible for the content of external sites. External links will open in a new window.External link opens in a new window)

Go to the Top

Overall Election Results
PartyElectedLeadingTotalVote Share
Last Update:October 11, 2:25:56 AM EDT

District Profiles