Regional results

CandidatePartyVote CountVote ShareElected
Dalton McGuintyLIB2356650.04%X
Richard RaymondPC1397529.67%
Edelweiss D'AndreaNDP44279.4%
John FordGRN38438.16%
David MacDonaldFCP9101.93%
Jean-Serge BrissonLTN3760.8%
October 11, 2:25:56 AM EDT 264 of 272 polls reporting
About these figures:
Unofficial results were updated at the time shown. For more recent results, visit Elections Ontario. The CBC does not endorse and is not responsible for the content of external sites. External links will open in a new window.

Ottawa South (064)

Jean-Serge Brisson Libertarian
Edelweiss D'Andrea NDP
John Ford Green
David MacDonald FCP
Dalton McGuinty Liberal
Richard Raymond PC

Ottawa South (064)

This Ottawa riding has an immigrant population of about 26 per cent, with the largest concentration of Arabic speakers in Ontario.

It runs from south of the Rideau River and Queensway in the north to Hunt Club Road, Limeback Road and Conroy Road in the south.

The riding includes the Macdonald-Cartier Airport and its major employer is the government.

As a result of the 1999 redistribution, the new Ottawa South combined more than half of the Ottawa-Rideau riding with more than 80 per cent of the old Ottawa South riding.

From Elections Ontario:
External link opens in a new window Ottawa South [HTML] [PDF, 217KB]
( Acrobat Reader required - download free Acrobat Reader.)

Political History:

Starting in 1937, the Tories won 14 consecutive elections in Ottawa South. The streak was broken by Liberal Dalton McGuinty, who won in 1987. When McGuinty died in early 1990, his son, Dalton Jr., won the seat for the Liberals in a general election later that year. He was re-elected in 1995 and a year later, became the party's leader.

Meanwhile, Liberal Yvonne O'Neill won the riding of Ottawa-Rideau in 1987 and 1990. She lost the seat to Garry Guzzo, a Tory, in 1995. Guzzo ran in Ottawa West in 1999, capturing the seat there.

After the redistribution, McGuinty won again in 1999. In 2003, when he trounced his Tory rival, Richard Raymond, by 8,247 votes and formed a provincial Liberal government. In addition to serving as premier, McGuinty also held the research and innovation portfolio.

(The CBC does not endorse and is not responsible for the content of external sites. External links will open in a new window.External link opens in a new window)

Go to the Top

Overall Election Results
PartyElectedLeadingTotalVote Share
Last Update:October 11, 2:25:56 AM EDT

District Profiles