Regional results

CandidatePartyVote CountVote ShareElected
Yasir NaqviLIB1752234.83%X
Will MurrayNDP1557630.96%
Trina MorissettePC999419.87%
Greg LaxtonGRN626312.45%
Danny MoranFCP4770.95%
Richard EveleighIND2770.55%
Stuart RyanCOM1980.39%
October 11, 2:25:56 AM EDT 331 of 347 polls reporting
About these figures:
Unofficial results were updated at the time shown. For more recent results, visit Elections Ontario. The CBC does not endorse and is not responsible for the content of external sites. External links will open in a new window.

Ottawa Centre (062)

Richard Eveleigh Independent
Greg Laxton Green
Danny Moran FCP
Trina Morissette PC
Will Murray NDP
Yasir Naqvi Liberal
Stuart Ryan Communist

Ottawa Centre (062)

This urban Ottawa riding contains much of the city's downtown, including Parliament Hill.

The riding runs from the Ottawa River in the north to the Rideau River in the south. In the west, it stretches from Shelbourne Road, Maitland Avenue and Merivale Road to Nicholas Street in the east.

It includes residential areas such as Westboro, Highland Park, Westboro Beach and Hampton-Iona. This ethnically diverse area also boasts the third highest rate of university-educated people in the province, with 30 per cent of the residents possessing degrees.

Ten per cent of the population lists French as the mother language, and there are also significant Italian, Chinese and Vietnamese communities.

As a result of the 1999 redistribution, the riding folded one-quarter of Ottawa West and small parts of Ottawa South, Ottawa-Rideau, Ottawa East into to all of the old Ottawa Centre.

From Elections Ontario:
External link opens in a new window Ottawa Centre [HTML] [PDF, 280KB]
( Acrobat Reader required - download free Acrobat Reader.)

Political History:

In Ottawa Centre, the NDP's Mike Cassidy won in 1971, 1975, 1977 and 1981. Cassidy was leader of the Ontario NDP from 1978 to 1982, and resigned to run federally in the 1984 election.

Cassidy was followed by the NDP's Evelyn Gigantes, who won in a byelection and the general election of 1985. In 1987, Gigantes lost the seat to Liberal Richard Patten, but defeated him in a 1990 rematch. Patten returned the favour in 1995, when he beat Gigantes a second time.

Patten won a close race for re-election in 1999 and dominated in 2003, beating NDP hopeful Jeff Atkinson by 10,931 votes.

(The CBC does not endorse and is not responsible for the content of external sites. External links will open in a new window.External link opens in a new window)

Go to the Top

Overall Election Results
PartyElectedLeadingTotalVote Share
Last Update:October 11, 2:25:56 AM EDT

District Profiles