Regional results

CandidatePartyVote CountVote ShareElected
Lou RinaldiLIB2228845.38%X
Cathy GaltPC1532831.21%
Carolyn BlaindNDP648113.2%
Judy Smith TorrieGRN502010.22%
October 11, 2:25:56 AM EDT 273 of 273 polls reporting
About these figures:
Unofficial results were updated at the time shown. For more recent results, visit Elections Ontario. The CBC does not endorse and is not responsible for the content of external sites. External links will open in a new window.

Northumberland - Quinte West (058)

Carolyn Blaind NDP
Cathy Galt PC
Lou Rinaldi Liberal
Judy Smith Torrie Green

Northumberland - Quinte West (058)

This largely rural riding in southeastern Ontario runs from Rice Lake and the Trent River in the north to Lake Ontario in the south.

The major centres are Port Hope, Trenton, Cobourg, Colborne and Campbellford. The Alderville First Nation is also included in the northern part of the riding.

Although the riding is mostly rural, there are significant manufacturing and retail trade sectors. As a result of the 1999 redistribution, the riding added almost one-quarter of the old Quinte riding to the old Northumberland riding.

The 2007 redistribution added 15 per cent of Prince Edward-Hastings to the existing riding.

From Elections Ontario:
External link opens in a new window Northumberland - Quinte West [HTML] [PDF, 376KB]
( Acrobat Reader required - download free Acrobat Reader.)

Political History:

In Northumberland, Tory Russell Rowe won five consecutive elections beginning in 1963, followed by fellow Tory Howard Sheppard in 1981 and 1985.

Joan Fawcett seized it for the Liberals in 1987 and won again in 1990, only to be defeated by Tory Douglas Galt in 1995. Galt held the riding in 1999 but lost in 2003 as Liberal Lou Rinaldi won by 2,560 votes.

In the Prince Edward-Hastings riding, created in 1999, Tory Gary Fox lost to Liberal Ernie Parsons by just 56 votes. Parsons kept his seat in 2003 but was appointed as a justice of the peace in June 2007, leaving his seat open for the 2007 election. No byelection was held since the election was scheduled for less than six months after Parsons left the seat.

(The CBC does not endorse and is not responsible for the content of external sites. External links will open in a new window.External link opens in a new window)

Go to the Top

Overall Election Results
PartyElectedLeadingTotalVote Share
Last Update:October 11, 2:25:56 AM EDT

District Profiles