Regional results

CandidatePartyVote CountVote ShareElected
Paul MillerNDP1625637.63%X
Nerene VirginLIB1517135.12%
Tara CrugnalePC919521.29%
Raymond DartschGRN21224.91%
Robert InnesFCP4511.04%
October 11, 2:25:56 AM EDT 263 of 264 polls reporting
About these figures:
Unofficial results were updated at the time shown. For more recent results, visit Elections Ontario. The CBC does not endorse and is not responsible for the content of external sites. External links will open in a new window.

Hamilton East - Stoney Creek (032)

Tara Crugnale PC
Raymond Dartsch Green
Robert Innes FCP
Paul Miller NDP
Nerene Virgin Liberal

Hamilton East - Stoney Creek (032)

This southern Ontario riding takes in the eastern part of Hamilton and part of Stoney Creek.

Manufacturing and the service sector are major industries. Hamilton's steel industry and auto manufacturing in St. Catharines support other light industry and services in the riding.

Nearly one-third of residents are immigrants and 10 per cent of residents are of Italian origin. The average family income is $59,120 and unemployment is 6.7 per cent, according to the 2001 census.

The 1999 redistribution added more than a third of the Hamilton Centre riding to the old Hamilton East riding.

The 2007 redistribution took nearly equal sections of Hamilton East and Stoney Creek to create the Hamilton East-Stoney Creek riding.

From Elections Ontario:
External link opens in a new window Hamilton East - Stoney Creek [HTML] [PDF, 210KB]
( Acrobat Reader required - download free Acrobat Reader.)

Political History:

The old riding of Hamilton East boasts a long history of pro-labour political representation stretching back to Norm Davison, who won in 1959 as a candidate for the Co-operative Commonwealth Federation.

NDP candidates won the seat nine times from 1963 to 1995, when Dominic Agostino won for the Liberals. Agostino retained the seat in 1999 and again in 2003, beating NDP hopeful Bob Sutton by 6,963 votes. Agostino died of liver cancer in 2004. His brother Ralph ran in the subsequent byelection, but lost to New Democrat Andrea Horwath by more than 8,000 votes.

PC Brad Clark won in the Stoney Creek riding in 1999, defeating Liberal Chris Phillips. In 2001, he was named transportation minister and later served as labour minister under Ernie Eves.

Clark was defeated in 2003, losing to Liberal Jennifer Mossop by more than 5,000 votes.

(The CBC does not endorse and is not responsible for the content of external sites. External links will open in a new window.External link opens in a new window)

Go to the Top

Overall Election Results
PartyElectedLeadingTotalVote Share
Last Update:October 11, 2:25:56 AM EDT

District Profiles