Regional results

CandidatePartyVote CountVote ShareElected
Donna CansfieldLIB2252350.22%X
Andy PringlePC1529734.11%
Anita AgrawalNDP37488.36%
Greg KingGRN32807.31%
October 11, 2:25:56 AM EDT 242 of 248 polls reporting
About these figures:
Unofficial results were updated at the time shown. For more recent results, visit Elections Ontario. The CBC does not endorse and is not responsible for the content of external sites. External links will open in a new window.

Etobicoke Centre (023)

Anita Agrawal NDP
Donna Cansfield Liberal
Greg King Green
Andy Pringle PC

Etobicoke Centre (023)

This residential riding in west-end Toronto runs the gamut from beautifully manicured lawns and stately homes to no-frills public housing. More than 18 per cent of the population is over 65, the highest percentage of that age group in Ontario.

Etobicoke-Centre is bordered by Dixon Road and Dundas Street to the north and the boundary of the old city of Toronto to the east.

The 1999 redistribution incorporated 85 per cent of the old Etobicoke West riding with 58 per cent of Etobicoke-Humber.

In the 2007 redistribution, the northern boundary was altered to follow Dixon Road as far as the Humber River.

From Elections Ontario:
External link opens in a new window Etobicoke Centre [HTML] [PDF, 268KB]
( Acrobat Reader required - download free Acrobat Reader.)

Political History:

The riding of Etobicoke-West was established in 1987 and was initially held by the Liberals. In 1990, PC candidate Chris Stockwell scored the first of three consecutive victories.

In the old Etobicoke-Humber riding, also established in 1987, the Liberals won in 1987 and 1990, but lost to the Tories in 1995.

The old riding of Humber was a Tory stronghold from 1975 to 1985, when Liberal Jim Henderson beat PC candidate Morley Kells.

Stockwell took the seat after Etobicoke-Centre was formed in 1999, but announced in 2003 that he would not be seeking re-election, after a report from the province's integrity commissioner criticized the fact that expenses from a family vacation that were picked up by Ontario Power Generation and his riding association.

Liberal Donna Cansfield captured the riding in 2003, beating PC hopeful Rose Andrachuk. Cansfield was made minister of energy in October 2005, then minister of transportation in May 2006.

(The CBC does not endorse and is not responsible for the content of external sites. External links will open in a new window.External link opens in a new window)

Go to the Top

Overall Election Results
PartyElectedLeadingTotalVote Share
Last Update:October 11, 2:25:56 AM EDT

District Profiles