Regional results

CandidatePartyVote CountVote ShareElected
Mike ColleLIB1650443.13%X
Bernie TanzPC1442637.7%
Karin WiensNDP385810.08%
Andrew JamesGRN27657.23%
Rina MorraFCP2590.68%
Tom GelmonLTN2320.61%
Franz CauchiFP1250.33%
Joseph YoungNA970.25%
October 11, 2:25:56 AM EDT 243 of 249 polls reporting
About these figures:
Unofficial results were updated at the time shown. For more recent results, visit Elections Ontario. The CBC does not endorse and is not responsible for the content of external sites. External links will open in a new window.

Eglinton - Lawrence (020)

Franz Cauchi Freedom
Mike Colle Liberal
Tom Gelmon Libertarian
Andrew James Green
Rina Morra FCP
Bernie Tanz PC
Karin Wiens NDP
Joseph Young Independent

Eglinton - Lawrence (020)

This densely populated Toronto riding is bordered by Highway 401 in the north, Eglinton Avenue in the south, and Yonge Street in the east.

More than 40 per cent of the population is immigrant, and a significant number of residents are Italian or Jewish.

Eglinton-Lawrence has a diverse economic base, with the western portion containing more than 600 small manufacturing establishments interspersed with residential areas.

After the redistribution of 1999, the new riding combined 52 per cent of the old Lawrence riding, 35 per cent of Eglinton, three per cent of Oakwood, six per cent of St. Andrew-St. Patrick, 12 per cent of Wilson Heights and nine per cent of York Mills.

The 2007 altered the southern border slightly, now arranged as Eglinton Avenue from the CN rail line to Yonge Street.

From Elections Ontario:
External link opens in a new window Eglinton - Lawrence [HTML] [PDF, 268KB]
( Acrobat Reader required - download free Acrobat Reader.)

Political History:

After the Lawrence riding was created in 1987, the Liberal Party reigned for four straight elections. In the former Eglinton riding, the PC winning streak started in 1962 and ran through to 1987. Starting in 1975, the riding was held for a decade by Roy McMurtry; he resigned the seat after losing a bid for the PC leadership.

Liberal Mike Colle captured the new Eglinton-Lawrence riding in 1999 and retained his seat in 2003, beating PC Corinne Korzen by 11,307 votes.

(The CBC does not endorse and is not responsible for the content of external sites. External links will open in a new window.External link opens in a new window)

Go to the Top

Overall Election Results
PartyElectedLeadingTotalVote Share
Last Update:October 11, 2:25:56 AM EDT

District Profiles