Regional results

CandidatePartyVote CountVote ShareElected
Michael PrueNDP1747844.34%X
Tom TeahenLIB1016325.79%
Don DuvallPC614215.58%
Caroline LawGRN477812.12%
Doug PatfieldLTN5181.31%
Joel KiddFCP2010.51%
James WhitakerFP1340.34%
October 11, 2:25:56 AM EDT 237 of 238 polls reporting
About these figures:
Unofficial results were updated at the time shown. For more recent results, visit Elections Ontario. The CBC does not endorse and is not responsible for the content of external sites. External links will open in a new window.

Beaches - East York (005)

Donald Duvall PC
Joel Kidd FCP
Caroline Law Green
Douglas Patfield Libertarian
Michael Prue NDP
Tom Teahen Liberal
James Whitaker Freedom

Beaches - East York (005)

The Toronto riding is bordered by Lake Ontario in the south, East York in the north, the old border of Scarborough in the east and the Don Valley parkway in the west.

Displaying an almost equal number of homeowners to renters, the bulk of workers in the riding are in manufacturing, retail, health and social services.

According to 1996 census data, immigrants make up nearly 35 per cent of the population in the area, with Chinese, Italian and East Indian among the major ethnic groups.

A new riding formed in the 2003 election, Beaches-East York combines 95 per cent of the old Beaches-Woodbine riding with 40 per cent of Don Mills and 20 per cent of York East.

The 2007 redistribution kept most of the old riding intact while incorporating small areas of Don Valley East, Scarborough Southwest and Don Valley West.

From Elections Ontario:
External link opens in a new window Beaches - East York [HTML] [PDF, 188KB]
( Acrobat Reader required - download free Acrobat Reader.)

Political History:

The NDP held in Beaches Woodbine from 1975 until its abolition in 2003. Frances Lankin, who was first elected in 1990, was appointed to the provincial cabinet as health minister and minister of economic development and trade.

In the old riding of Don Mills, the PC party ruled from 1971 through 1987. In 1987, Liberal Murad Velshi won the riding, but it was lost in 1990 to New Democrat Margery Ward. Following Ward's death, the seat returned to Tory control in a 1993 byelection.

The New Democrats won the redistributed riding in 1999, as former Beaches-Woodbine MPP Frances Lankin won a convincing victory over Liberal Bill Buckingham. Lankin resigned her seat in 2001 to accept a position as president and CEO of the United Way of Greater Toronto.

The NDP's Michael Prue won the seat in a 2001 byelection and retained it in 2003, routing Liberal Monica Purdy by over 11,000 votes.

(The CBC does not endorse and is not responsible for the content of external sites. External links will open in a new window.External link opens in a new window)

Go to the Top

Overall Election Results
PartyElectedLeadingTotalVote Share
Last Update:October 11, 2:25:56 AM EDT

District Profiles