Regional results

CandidatePartyVote CountVote ShareElected
Aileen CarrollLIB1954842.21%X
Joe TasconaPC1819939.3%
Erich Jacoby-HawkinsGRN44039.51%
Larry TaylorNDP37048%
Paolo FabrizioLTN1500.32%
Roberto SalesFCP1250.27%
Darren RoskamIND1010.22%
Daniel Gary PredieIND770.17%
October 11, 2:25:56 AM EDT 280 of 279 polls reporting
About these figures:
Unofficial results were updated at the time shown. For more recent results, visit Elections Ontario. The CBC does not endorse and is not responsible for the content of external sites. External links will open in a new window.

Barrie (004)

Aileen Carroll Liberal
Paolo Fabrizio Libertarian
Erich Jacoby-Hawkins Green
Daniel Predie Independent
Roberto Sales FCP
Joe Tascona PC
Larry Taylor NDP
Darren Roskam Independent

Barrie (004)

This Simcoe-area riding has the fourth highest population in Ontario, most of which is concentrated in the city of Barrie.

The riding is situated on the western shore of Lake Simcoe and the Holland River, and includes the towns of Bradford, West Gwillimbury and Innisfil.

Tourism and manufacturing are the primary sources of employment in this popular summer resort area.

Barrie-Simcoe-Bradford was established in 1996 by merging parts of Simcoe Centre and York-Simcoe.

The riding was reduced in 2007 to reflect the growing population of the city of Barrie, creating the Barrie riding and redistributing some territory in the Simcoe-Grey and York-Simcoe ridings.

From Elections Ontario:
External link opens in a new window Barrie [HTML] [PDF, 227KB]
( Acrobat Reader required - download free Acrobat Reader.)

Political History:

From 1943 through 1987, Simcoe Centre was a Tory stronghold, electing four consecutive Progressive Conservatives. Liberal Bruce Owen defeated PC Earl Rowe in 1987.

Owen was defeated in 1990 by NDP candidate Paul Wessenger. PC Joe Tascona took the seat in 1995 with a 17,729-vote victory over Owen, who was attempting to reclaim the seat. Wessenger placed third that year, losing by over 22,000 votes.

Tascona won again in 1999, and decisively in 2003, beating Liberal Mike Ramsay by 9,546 votes.

(The CBC does not endorse and is not responsible for the content of external sites. External links will open in a new window.External link opens in a new window)

Go to the Top

Overall Election Results
PartyElectedLeadingTotalVote Share
Last Update:October 11, 2:25:56 AM EDT

District Profiles