HomeRadioTelevisionLocal ContactSearchHelp
Ontario Votes 2003

Main > Ridings
Election Day: Oct. 2, 2003   

Candidate Party Vote Count Pop. Vote X
Sandra Pupatello Liberal Party 22311 62.59% X
Yvette Blackburn New Democratic Party 7413 20.8%
Derek Insley Prog Conservative 4266 11.97%
Cary M. Lucier Green Party of Ont. 1245 3.49%
Enver Villamizar Independent 412 1.16%
 Last Update Fri Oct 3 12:45:18 EDT 2003 241 of 241 polls reporting


2003 Candidates:
Sandra Pupatello (Liberal) - incumbent
Derek Insley (PC)
Yvette Blackburn (NDP)
Cary M. Lucier (GP)
Enver Villamizar (IND)

1999 Election Results
Candidate Ballot Count Popular Vote
Sandra Pupatello (Liberal) 24,388 65.50%
David McCamon (PC) 6,229 16.73%
Liam McCarthy (NDP) 5,762 15.48%

Timothy Dugdale (Green Party)

420 1.13%
Robert Cruise (Independent) 270 0.73%
Lynn Tobin (Natural Law Party) 162 0.44%

Riding Profile:
Zoom in on Windsor West

Maps from Elections Ontario
will open in a new window.
Adobe Acrobat required.

This riding on the south shore of the Detroit River is home to sizable Italian and Greek communities.

It includes the western half of Windsor and, owing to its close proximity to the US border, boasts a large number of residents who have immigrated from the U.S.

The largest employer in this heavily unionized riding is the automobile and auto parts manufacturing.

In the 1999 redistribution, the new riding of Windsor West combined five per cent of Windsor-Riverside with 58 per cent of Windsor-Walkerville and 75 per cent of Windsor-Sandwich.

Political History:

The former riding of Windsor-Sandwich has not seen a Tory MPP elected in nearly four decades.

NDP candidate Ted Bounsall won the former riding of Windsor-Sandwich in 1975 and 1977, but it lost to Liberal Bill Wrye in 1981 by just 134 votes. Wrye was re-elected in 1985 and 1987. In 1990, the NDP's George Dadamo won the riding; it passed to the Liberals, and current incumbent Sandra Pupatello, in 1995.

The riding of Windsor-Walkerville was held by Liberal Bernard Newman from 1959 to 1987, following which fellow Liberal Mike Ray won the seat for one more term. The Liberal reign ended temporarily in 1990 when NDP candidate Wayne Lessard won the seat, but resumed with the 1995 victory of current incumbent Dwight Duncan.





 Overall Election Results
Party E L T Pop. Vote %
LIB 72 0 72 46.45%
PC 24 0 24 34.64%
NDP 7 0 7 14.70%
OTH 0 0 0 4.21%
 Last Update Fri Oct 3 12:45:18 EDT 2003

Other Ridings
  To jump to another riding, use the
  pulldown menu below:

Leaders' Debate Leaders' Debate
Public reaction, commentary, and archived media from the Leaders' Debate.
more »

This note's for you PC 2003:
The Musical

The reporters and the Tories serenade each other as the blue bus rolls on.
more »

Miss Kitten The cat came back
Julie Ireton observes as the now-infamous Tory news release returns as a juicy photo-op for the Liberals.
more »

Are you wealthy? Are you wealthy?
A quick look at some of the salaries earned by public servants, both "wealthy" and "not wealthy," according to Ernie Eves' criteria.
more »

Platform Promises Party Platforms
Compare the platform promises of the three main parties, point by point.
more »

Media Election Video and Audio
Daily archives of election video and audio in a variety of streaming formats from CBC Radio and CBC Television.
more »

Twenty Elections from the Archives
From the Big Blue Machine to Premier Bob, the Common Sense Revolution and beyond, CBC Archives looks back at nearly 20 turbulent years of Ontario elections.
more »

Your View
Tell us your view about the election, the party platforms and leaders, and issues during the campaign.
more »

Student Vote 2003
Find out how more than 500,000 Ontario students will get into the habit of voting during this provincial election.
more >>

Terms of Use | Privacy | Copyright | Other Policies
Copyright © CBC 2003