HomeRadioTelevisionLocal ContactSearchHelp
Ontario Votes 2003

Main > Ridings
Election Day: Oct. 2, 2003   

Candidate Party Vote Count Pop. Vote X
Ted McMeekin Liberal Party 23075 47.6% X
Mark Mullins Prog Conservative 18141 37.42%
Kelly Hayes New Democratic Party 5610 11.57%
Brian Elder Sullivan Green Party of Ont. 903 1.86%
Michael Trolly Family Coalition 438 0.9%
Richard Butson Confed of Regions 309 0.64%
 Last Update Fri Oct 3 12:45:49 EDT 2003 229 of 229 polls reporting


2003 Candidates:
Ted McMeekin (Liberal) - incumbent
Mark Mullins (PC)
Kelly Hayes (NDP)
Michael Trolly (FCP)
Brian Elder Sullivan (GP)
Richard Butson (Ontario Provincial Confederation of Regions Party)

1999 Election Results
Candidate Ballot Count Popular Vote
Toni Skarica (PC) 27,466 58.07%
Vicky Wylson-Sher (Liberal) 15,843 33.50%
Jessica Brennan (NDP) 3,990 8.44%

Riding Profile:
Zoom in on Ancaster-Dundas-Flamborough-Aldershot

Maps from Elections Ontario
will open in a new window.
Adobe Acrobat required.

This southern riding is located just west of Hamilton. Formerly known as Wentworth-Burlington, it underwent a name change in 2001 to adjust to the federal riding name in the same area.

It is made up a mix of urban and rural communities, and includes Ancaster and Dundas to the south and Flamborough and part of Burlington.

In the 1999 redistribution, the new riding (then called Wentworth-Burlington) combined 19 per cent of Burlington South and a tiny portion of Halton Centre with all of Wentworth North.

Political History:

Conservative Don Ewen won in Wentworth in 1963, was defeated in 1967, but won again in Wentworth North in 1971. In 1975, Liberal Eric Cunningham beat Ewen, and was re-elected in 1977 and 1981. When Cunningham resigned, Tory Ann Sloat won the seat in a December 1984 byelection; she holds the dubious distinction of never having taken her seat because the Legislature was not reconvened before her unsuccessful campaign in the 1985 general election.

Liberal Chris Ward won that election and was re-elected in 1987. NDP candidate Don Abel defeated Ward in 1990 by a slim 88 votes.

The riding went to Tory candidate Toni Skarica in 1995 and 1999, but he resigned in 2001 over provincial plans to amalgamate the city of Hamilton with surrounding communities. In the byelection that followed, former Flamborough mayor Ted McMeekin won the seat for the Liberals.





 Overall Election Results
Party E L T Pop. Vote %
LIB 72 0 72 46.45%
PC 24 0 24 34.64%
NDP 7 0 7 14.70%
OTH 0 0 0 4.21%
 Last Update Fri Oct 3 12:45:18 EDT 2003

Other Ridings
  To jump to another riding, use the
  pulldown menu below:

Leaders' Debate Leaders' Debate
Public reaction, commentary, and archived media from the Leaders' Debate.
more »

This note's for you PC 2003:
The Musical

The reporters and the Tories serenade each other as the blue bus rolls on.
more »

Miss Kitten The cat came back
Julie Ireton observes as the now-infamous Tory news release returns as a juicy photo-op for the Liberals.
more »

Are you wealthy? Are you wealthy?
A quick look at some of the salaries earned by public servants, both "wealthy" and "not wealthy," according to Ernie Eves' criteria.
more »

Platform Promises Party Platforms
Compare the platform promises of the three main parties, point by point.
more »

Media Election Video and Audio
Daily archives of election video and audio in a variety of streaming formats from CBC Radio and CBC Television.
more »

Twenty Elections from the Archives
From the Big Blue Machine to Premier Bob, the Common Sense Revolution and beyond, CBC Archives looks back at nearly 20 turbulent years of Ontario elections.
more »

Your View
Tell us your view about the election, the party platforms and leaders, and issues during the campaign.
more »

Student Vote 2003
Find out how more than 500,000 Ontario students will get into the habit of voting during this provincial election.
more >>

Terms of Use | Privacy | Copyright | Other Policies
Copyright © CBC 2003