HomeRadioTelevisionLocal ContactSearchHelp
Ontario Votes 2003

Main > Ridings
Election Day: Oct. 2, 2003   

Candidate Party Vote Count Pop. Vote X
Jennifer Mossop Liberal Party 24556 48.71% X
Brad Clark Prog Conservative 19487 38.66%
Lorrie McKibbon New Democratic Party 5475 10.86%
Richard Safka Green Party of Ont. 894 1.77%
 Last Update Fri Oct 3 12:45:18 EDT 2003 217 of 217 polls reporting


2003 Candidates:
Brad Clark (PC) - incumbent
Jennifer Mossop (Liberal)
Lorrie McKibbon (NDP)
Richard Safka (GP)

1999 Election Results
Candidate Ballot Count Popular Vote
Brad Clark (PC) 21,462 45.56%
Chris Phillips (Liberal) 18,840 39.99%
Robert Barlow (NDP) 4,922 10.45%
Philip Lees (Family Coalition Party) 1,206 2.56%
Paul Lane (Independent) 350 0.74%
Sue Marchand (Natural Law Party) 330 0.70%

Riding Profile:
Zoom in on Stoney Creek

Maps from Elections Ontario
will open in a new window.
Adobe Acrobat required.

This southern riding is mostly made up of the city of Stoney Creek, located between Hamilton and St. Catharines, and boasts the greatest share of Croatian speakers in the province.

The riding also takes in a portion of the city of Hamilton (in the northwest corner), the town of Grimsby (in the northeast) and Glanbrook Township (in the south).

The local economy is sustained by light industries and service companies feeding off the steel industry in Hamilton and the automotive industry in St. Catharines.

Many constituents here commute to work in either Mississauga, Toronto, Hamilton or St. Catharines.

In the 1999 redistribution, the new riding of Stoney Creek added 25 per cent of Lincoln to the former riding of Wentworth East.

Political History:
In the riding of Lincoln, Tory Bob Welch won in 1963, 1967 and 1971. Liberal Ross Hall was victorious here in 1975 and again in 1977, but lost to Tory Phil Andrewes in 1981. Andrewes was re-elected in 1985 and defeated by Liberal Harry Pelissero in 1987. In 1990, the NDP's Ron Hansen won the seat, but lost it in 1995 to Conservative candidate Frank Sheehan.

Ian Deans won the traditionally NDP riding of Wentworth in 1967 and held the seat until his resignation in 1979. In the resulting by-election, NDP candidate Colin Isaacs defeated Tory Gordon Dean by just 543 votes, only to lose the seat to Dean in the 1981 general election. Dean was re-elected in 1981 and 1985.

In the pre-1999 riding of Wentworth East, Liberal Shirley Collins won in 1987 but was defeated by NDP candidate Mark Morrow in 1990. In 1995, Ed Doyle won the seat for the Tories.





 Overall Election Results
Party E L T Pop. Vote %
LIB 72 0 72 46.45%
PC 24 0 24 34.64%
NDP 7 0 7 14.70%
OTH 0 0 0 4.21%
 Last Update Fri Oct 3 12:45:18 EDT 2003

Other Ridings
  To jump to another riding, use the
  pulldown menu below:

Leaders' Debate Leaders' Debate
Public reaction, commentary, and archived media from the Leaders' Debate.
more »

This note's for you PC 2003:
The Musical

The reporters and the Tories serenade each other as the blue bus rolls on.
more »

Miss Kitten The cat came back
Julie Ireton observes as the now-infamous Tory news release returns as a juicy photo-op for the Liberals.
more »

Are you wealthy? Are you wealthy?
A quick look at some of the salaries earned by public servants, both "wealthy" and "not wealthy," according to Ernie Eves' criteria.
more »

Platform Promises Party Platforms
Compare the platform promises of the three main parties, point by point.
more »

Media Election Video and Audio
Daily archives of election video and audio in a variety of streaming formats from CBC Radio and CBC Television.
more »

Twenty Elections from the Archives
From the Big Blue Machine to Premier Bob, the Common Sense Revolution and beyond, CBC Archives looks back at nearly 20 turbulent years of Ontario elections.
more »

Your View
Tell us your view about the election, the party platforms and leaders, and issues during the campaign.
more »

Student Vote 2003
Find out how more than 500,000 Ontario students will get into the habit of voting during this provincial election.
more >>

Terms of Use | Privacy | Copyright | Other Policies
Copyright © CBC 2003