HomeRadioTelevisionLocal ContactSearchHelp
Ontario Votes 2003

Main > Ridings
Election Day: Oct. 2, 2003   

Candidate Party Vote Count Pop. Vote X
Lorenzo Berardinetti Liberal Party 17501 46.84% X
Dan Newman Prog Conservative 11871 31.77%
Barbara Warner New Democratic Party 6718 17.98%
Andrew Strachan Green Party of Ont. 691 1.85%
Ray Scott Family Coalition 586 1.57%
 Last Update Fri Oct 3 12:45:18 EDT 2003 196 of 196 polls reporting


2003 Candidates:
Dan Newman (PC) - incumbent
Lorenzo Berardinetti (Liberal)
Barbara Warner (NDP)
Andrew Strachan (GP)
Ray Scott (FCP)

1999 Election Results
Candidate Ballot Count Popular Vote
Dan Newman (PC) 15,349 39.76%
Adrian Heaps (Liberal) 12,992 33.66%
Michael Yorke (NDP) 8,962 23.22%
Wiktor Pawel Borkowski (Family Coalition Party) 495 1.28%

Barbara Schaefer (Green Party)

466 1.21%
Laurence Corp (Natural Law Party) 339 0.88%

Riding Profile:
Zoom in on Scarborough Southwest

Maps from Elections Ontario
will open in a new window.
Adobe Acrobat required.

This riding stretches from Eglinton Avenue and the CN Rail line in the north to Lake Ontario in the south. Its western boundary is Victoria Park Avenue, and it extends to the intersection of Highway 2 and the CN Rail line in the east.

There is a significant Chinese, Italian and East Indian presence, and about 23 per cent list Judaism as an ethnic origin.

In the 1999 redistribution, the new Scarborough Southwest riding combined 57 per cent of Scarborough Centre with 57 per cent of Scarborough West and six per cent of Scarborough East.

Political History:
Other than a single NDP win in 1967, the old riding of Scarborough Centre was held by Tories from 1963 to 1987, when it fell to Liberal Cindy Nicholas. The seat went to NDP candidate Steve Owens in 1990, but returned to the Tories in 1995 when Dan Newman won the riding.

In the old riding of Scarborough West, former NDP leader Stephen Lewis (1970-78) won elections in 1963, 1967, 1971, 1975 and 1977. NDP candidate Richard Johnston won the seat in a 1979 by-election, and followed up with victories in 1985 and 1987. The NDP's Anne Swarbrick secured the riding in 1990. Tory James Brown won in 1995.





 Overall Election Results
Party E L T Pop. Vote %
LIB 72 0 72 46.45%
PC 24 0 24 34.64%
NDP 7 0 7 14.70%
OTH 0 0 0 4.21%
 Last Update Fri Oct 3 12:45:18 EDT 2003

Other Ridings
  To jump to another riding, use the
  pulldown menu below:

Leaders' Debate Leaders' Debate
Public reaction, commentary, and archived media from the Leaders' Debate.
more »

This note's for you PC 2003:
The Musical

The reporters and the Tories serenade each other as the blue bus rolls on.
more »

Miss Kitten The cat came back
Julie Ireton observes as the now-infamous Tory news release returns as a juicy photo-op for the Liberals.
more »

Are you wealthy? Are you wealthy?
A quick look at some of the salaries earned by public servants, both "wealthy" and "not wealthy," according to Ernie Eves' criteria.
more »

Platform Promises Party Platforms
Compare the platform promises of the three main parties, point by point.
more »

Media Election Video and Audio
Daily archives of election video and audio in a variety of streaming formats from CBC Radio and CBC Television.
more »

Twenty Elections from the Archives
From the Big Blue Machine to Premier Bob, the Common Sense Revolution and beyond, CBC Archives looks back at nearly 20 turbulent years of Ontario elections.
more »

Your View
Tell us your view about the election, the party platforms and leaders, and issues during the campaign.
more »

Student Vote 2003
Find out how more than 500,000 Ontario students will get into the habit of voting during this provincial election.
more >>

Terms of Use | Privacy | Copyright | Other Policies
Copyright © CBC 2003