HomeRadioTelevisionLocal ContactSearchHelp
Ontario Votes 2003

Main > Ridings
Election Day: Oct. 2, 2003   

Candidate Party Vote Count Pop. Vote X
Jerry J. Ouellette Prog Conservative 14566 37.32% X
Sid Ryan New Democratic Party 13547 34.71%
Chris Topple Liberal Party 9383 24.04%
Karen Tweedle Green Party of Ont. 636 1.63%
Paul McKeever Freedom Party of Ont 518 1.33%
Dale Chilvers Family Coalition 383 0.98%
 Last Update Fri Oct 3 12:45:49 EDT 2003 207 of 207 polls reporting


2003 Candidates:
Jerry J. Ouellette (PC) - incumbent
Chris Topple (Liberal)
Sid Ryan (NDP)
Karen Tweedle (GP)
Paul McKeever (FP)
Dale Chilvers

1999 Election Results
Candidate Ballot Count Popular Vote
Jerry Ouellette (PC) 18,915 46.75%
Chris Topple (Liberal) 11,740 29.02%
Colleen Twomey (NDP) 9,154 22.62%
Garry Kotack (Natural Law Party) 651 1.61%

Riding Profile:
Zoom in on Oshawa

Maps from Elections Ontario
will open in a new window.
Adobe Acrobat required.

This riding is located on the north shore of Lake Ontario approximately 60 kilometres east of Toronto.

It takes in most of city of Oshawa, a centre of the Canadian automobile industry. One of the province's most industrial regions, it's no surprise that the local economy is dominated by General Motors.

As a result of the 1999 redistribution, the riding combined more than one-third of Durham Centre with more than three-quarters of the old Oshawa riding.

Political History:

The old riding of Oshawa was traded between the NDP and Tories for years, beginning with victories by CCF candidate T.D. Thomas in 1955 and 1959.

Thomas was defeated by Tory Albert Walker in 1963, but the seat was recaptured when the NDP's Cliff Pilkey beat Walker in 1967. Pilkey was in turn defeated by Tory Charles McIlveen in 1971.

In 1975, the NDP's Mike Breaugh won the riding and was re-elected in the next four elections. The NDP continued its streak when Allan Pilkey, son of Cliff, won in 1990. Pilkey served in the cabinet of Bob Rae, but was defeated by current incumbent Jerry Ouellette in 1995.

In Durham Centre, Liberal Allan Furlong defeated NDP candidate Sarah Kelly in 1987. The NDP's Drummond White beat Furlong in 1990. Jim Flaherty won the seat for the Tories in 1995.





 Overall Election Results
Party E L T Pop. Vote %
LIB 72 0 72 46.45%
PC 24 0 24 34.64%
NDP 7 0 7 14.70%
OTH 0 0 0 4.21%
 Last Update Fri Oct 3 12:45:18 EDT 2003

Other Ridings
  To jump to another riding, use the
  pulldown menu below:

Leaders' Debate Leaders' Debate
Public reaction, commentary, and archived media from the Leaders' Debate.
more »

This note's for you PC 2003:
The Musical

The reporters and the Tories serenade each other as the blue bus rolls on.
more »

Miss Kitten The cat came back
Julie Ireton observes as the now-infamous Tory news release returns as a juicy photo-op for the Liberals.
more »

Are you wealthy? Are you wealthy?
A quick look at some of the salaries earned by public servants, both "wealthy" and "not wealthy," according to Ernie Eves' criteria.
more »

Platform Promises Party Platforms
Compare the platform promises of the three main parties, point by point.
more »

Media Election Video and Audio
Daily archives of election video and audio in a variety of streaming formats from CBC Radio and CBC Television.
more »

Twenty Elections from the Archives
From the Big Blue Machine to Premier Bob, the Common Sense Revolution and beyond, CBC Archives looks back at nearly 20 turbulent years of Ontario elections.
more »

Your View
Tell us your view about the election, the party platforms and leaders, and issues during the campaign.
more »

Student Vote 2003
Find out how more than 500,000 Ontario students will get into the habit of voting during this provincial election.
more >>

Terms of Use | Privacy | Copyright | Other Policies
Copyright © CBC 2003