HomeRadioTelevisionLocal ContactSearchHelp
Ontario Votes 2003

Main > Ridings
Election Day: Oct. 2, 2003   

Candidate Party Vote Count Pop. Vote X
Peter Kormos New Democratic Party 23420 49.54% X
Henry D'Angela Liberal Party 12629 26.72%
Ann D. Gronski Prog Conservative 10450 22.11%
Jordan McArthur Green Party of Ont. 774 1.64%
 Last Update Fri Oct 3 12:45:49 EDT 2003 230 of 230 polls reporting


2003 Candidates:
Peter Kormos (NDP) - incumbent
Ann D. Gronski (PC)
Henry D'Angela (Liberal)
Jordan McArthur (GP)

1999 Election Results
Candidate Ballot Count Popular Vote
Peter Kormos (NDP) 21,856 44.43%
Frank Sheehan (PC) 17,217 35.00%
Maurice Charbonneau (Liberal) 9,539 19.39%

Lank Makuloluwa (Independent)

198 0.40%
Margaret Larrass (Natural Law Party) 382 0.78%

Riding Profile:
Zoom in on Niagara Centre

Maps from Elections Ontario
will open in a new window.
Adobe Acrobat required.

This riding is located along the Niagara Peninsula and contains the city of Welland, the town of Pelham and the southern part of St. Catharines.

This region is heavily industrialized and a large percentage of the workforce is employed in steel, rubber, textile, automotive and other types of manufacturing. There is also a significant Italian population.

As a result of the 1999 redistribution, Niagara Centre combined about one quarter of the old Lincoln riding with 29 per cent of St. Catharines-Brock and 96 per cent of Welland-Thorold.

Political History:

In the former riding of Welland, Tory MPP Ellis Morningstar sat for 20 years, winning in 1951, 1955, 1959, 1963, 1967 and 1971. In 1975, NDP candidate Mel Swart won the seat after losing campaigns in 1967 and 1971. Swart continued his winning streak in the riding of Welland-Thorold in 1977, 1981, 1985 and 1987.

The NDP held the seat following Swart's resignation, with Peter Kormos winning a 1988 byelection. Kormos, who has been re-elected in every subsequent campaign, served briefly in the cabinet of Bob Rae; he was removed from his ministerial post in 1991 after posing as a "Sunshine Boy" for the Toronto <i>Sun</i> newspaper.

In the former riding of Lincoln, Liberal Ross Hall won in 1975 and 1977. Tory Phil Andrews won here in 1981 and 1985, before losing the seat to Liberal Harry Pelissero in 1987. NDP candidate Ron Hansen won in 1990, but the seat went back to the Tories when Frank Sheehan won in 1995.





 Overall Election Results
Party E L T Pop. Vote %
LIB 72 0 72 46.45%
PC 24 0 24 34.64%
NDP 7 0 7 14.70%
OTH 0 0 0 4.21%
 Last Update Fri Oct 3 12:45:18 EDT 2003

Other Ridings
  To jump to another riding, use the
  pulldown menu below:

Leaders' Debate Leaders' Debate
Public reaction, commentary, and archived media from the Leaders' Debate.
more »

This note's for you PC 2003:
The Musical

The reporters and the Tories serenade each other as the blue bus rolls on.
more »

Miss Kitten The cat came back
Julie Ireton observes as the now-infamous Tory news release returns as a juicy photo-op for the Liberals.
more »

Are you wealthy? Are you wealthy?
A quick look at some of the salaries earned by public servants, both "wealthy" and "not wealthy," according to Ernie Eves' criteria.
more »

Platform Promises Party Platforms
Compare the platform promises of the three main parties, point by point.
more »

Media Election Video and Audio
Daily archives of election video and audio in a variety of streaming formats from CBC Radio and CBC Television.
more »

Twenty Elections from the Archives
From the Big Blue Machine to Premier Bob, the Common Sense Revolution and beyond, CBC Archives looks back at nearly 20 turbulent years of Ontario elections.
more »

Your View
Tell us your view about the election, the party platforms and leaders, and issues during the campaign.
more »

Student Vote 2003
Find out how more than 500,000 Ontario students will get into the habit of voting during this provincial election.
more >>

Terms of Use | Privacy | Copyright | Other Policies
Copyright © CBC 2003