HomeRadioTelevisionLocal ContactSearchHelp
Ontario Votes 2003

Main > Ridings
Election Day: Oct. 2, 2003   

Candidate Party Vote Count Pop. Vote X
Maria Van Bommel Liberal Party 18519 45.13% X
Marcel Beaubien Prog Conservative 15049 36.67%
Joyce Jolliffe New Democratic Party 4508 10.99%
Tim Van Bodegom Green Party of Ont. 1132 2.76%
James Armstrong Independent 1050 2.56%
Wayne Forbes Freedom Party of Ont 776 1.89%
 Last Update Fri Oct 3 12:45:18 EDT 2003 226 of 226 polls reporting


2003 Candidates:
Marcel Beaubien (PC) - incumbent
Maria Van Bommel (Liberal)
Joyce Jolliffe (NDP)
Wayne Forbes (FP)
Tim Van Bodegom (GP)
James Armstrong (IND)

1999 Election Results
Candidate Ballot Count Popular Vote
Marcel Beaubien (PC) 19,561 45.00%
Larry O'Neill (Liberal) 18,665 42.94%
Jim Lee (NDP) 4,170 9.59%
Wayne H. Forbes (Freedom Party) 1,076 2.48%

Riding Profile:
Zoom in on Lambdon-Kent-Middlesex

Maps from Elections Ontario
will open in a new window.
Adobe Acrobat required.

This largely rural southwestern riding is home to five native reserves, including Ipperwash along Lake Huron's shore.

The riding runs from Lake Huron in the north to the Thames River in the south, with Lake St. Clair in the southwest corner.

It encompasses Wallaceburg, Petrolia, Strathroy, Forest, Glencoe, Wyoming and Walpole Island, and its major sources of employment are manufacturing and agriculture.

Following the 1999 redistribution, this riding was formed from 40 per cent of Chatham-Kent, about 60 per cent of Lambton, 34 per cent of Middlesex and 2 per cent of Essex-Kent.

Political History:

PC candidate Lorne Henderson won elections in Lambton East in 1963 and in Lambton in 1967, 1971, 1975, 1977 and 1981. Liberal Dave Smith won Lambton in 1985 and 1987, and NDP candidate Ellen MacKinnon won in 1990. In 1995, current incumbent PC Marcel Beaubien won the election.

In the old riding of Chatham-Kent, Tory Darcy McKeough sat from 1967 until his retirement in 1978. The riding went to the Liberals, NDP and PCs in successive elections.

In the former riding of Middlesex, PC candidate Bob Eaton won in 1975, 1977 and 1981 before losing to Liberal Doug Reycraft in 1985. In 1990, the NDP's Irene Mathyssen defeated Reycraft.





 Overall Election Results
Party E L T Pop. Vote %
LIB 72 0 72 46.45%
PC 24 0 24 34.64%
NDP 7 0 7 14.70%
OTH 0 0 0 4.21%
 Last Update Fri Oct 3 12:45:18 EDT 2003

Other Ridings
  To jump to another riding, use the
  pulldown menu below:

Leaders' Debate Leaders' Debate
Public reaction, commentary, and archived media from the Leaders' Debate.
more »

This note's for you PC 2003:
The Musical

The reporters and the Tories serenade each other as the blue bus rolls on.
more »

Miss Kitten The cat came back
Julie Ireton observes as the now-infamous Tory news release returns as a juicy photo-op for the Liberals.
more »

Are you wealthy? Are you wealthy?
A quick look at some of the salaries earned by public servants, both "wealthy" and "not wealthy," according to Ernie Eves' criteria.
more »

Platform Promises Party Platforms
Compare the platform promises of the three main parties, point by point.
more »

Media Election Video and Audio
Daily archives of election video and audio in a variety of streaming formats from CBC Radio and CBC Television.
more »

Twenty Elections from the Archives
From the Big Blue Machine to Premier Bob, the Common Sense Revolution and beyond, CBC Archives looks back at nearly 20 turbulent years of Ontario elections.
more »

Your View
Tell us your view about the election, the party platforms and leaders, and issues during the campaign.
more »

Student Vote 2003
Find out how more than 500,000 Ontario students will get into the habit of voting during this provincial election.
more >>

Terms of Use | Privacy | Copyright | Other Policies
Copyright © CBC 2003