HomeRadioTelevisionLocal ContactSearchHelp
Ontario Votes 2003

Main > Ridings
Election Day: Oct. 2, 2003   

Candidate Party Vote Count Pop. Vote X
David Caplan Liberal Party 21321 56.71% X
Paul Sutherland Prog Conservative 12095 32.17%
Murphy Browne New Democratic Party 3038 8.08%
Dan Graig Green Party of Ont. 560 1.49%
Ryan Kidd Family Coalition 459 1.22%
Wayne Simmons Freedom Party of Ont 121 0.32%
 Last Update Fri Oct 3 12:45:18 EDT 2003 192 of 192 polls reporting


2003 Candidates:
David Caplan (Liberal) - incumbent
Paul Sutherland (PC)
Murphy Browne (NDP)
Ryan Kidd (FCP)
Wayne Simmons (FP)
Dan Graig (GP)

1999 Election Results
Candidate Ballot Count Popular Vote
David Caplan (Liberal) 20,993 50.50%
Dave Johnson (PC) 17,955 43.19%
Janaki Bala-Krishnan (NDP) 1,822 4.38%
Raffi Assadourian (Independent) 329 0.79%
Ryan Kidd (Family Coalition Party) 153 0.37%
Elizabeth Rowley (Communist Party) 91 0.22%
Jeff Pancer (Green Party) 85 0.20%
Wayne Simmons (Freedom Party) 53 0.13%
Shail Lall (Natural Law Party) 28 0.07%
Fernand Deschamps (Independent) 65 0.16%

Zoom in on Don Valley East

Maps from Elections Ontario
will open in a new window.
Adobe Acrobat required.

Riding Profile:

This downtown Toronto riding is one of the most ethnically diverse in the province, with an immigrant population of more than 53 per cent.

It's bordered in the north by Finch Avenue and by the boundary of East York in the south. The Don River, Leslie Street, and the CN and CP rail lines border it in the west, and Victoria Park Avenue marks the eastern boundary.

Renters outnumber homeowners, the largest ethnic group is Chinese and the primary employer is the manufacturing industry.

The riding was created in 1999 from nearly 75 per cent of the old riding of Oriole, 40 per cent of York Mills, almost 25 per cent of Don Mills and a small piece of Willowdale.

Political History:

In the old Oriole riding, Liberal Elinor Caplan defeated long-sitting Tory John Williams in 1985. Caplan was re-elected three times before resigning the seat to run federally. She was succeeded by Liberal candidate David Caplan.

The York Mills riding was held by the Tories from 1963 to 1987, when Liberal Brad Nixon was elected. PC candidate David Turnbull defeated Nixon in 1990 and was re-elected in 1995.

The riding of Don Mills was PC territory from 1971 until 1987, when Dennis Timbrell was defeated by his Liberal opponent. The riding went to the NDP in the 1990 election, but was reclaimed by the Tories in 1995.






 Overall Election Results
Party E L T Pop. Vote %
LIB 72 0 72 46.45%
PC 24 0 24 34.64%
NDP 7 0 7 14.70%
OTH 0 0 0 4.21%
 Last Update Fri Oct 3 12:45:18 EDT 2003

Other Ridings
  To jump to another riding, use the
  pulldown menu below:

Leaders' Debate Leaders' Debate
Public reaction, commentary, and archived media from the Leaders' Debate.
more »

This note's for you PC 2003:
The Musical

The reporters and the Tories serenade each other as the blue bus rolls on.
more »

Miss Kitten The cat came back
Julie Ireton observes as the now-infamous Tory news release returns as a juicy photo-op for the Liberals.
more »

Are you wealthy? Are you wealthy?
A quick look at some of the salaries earned by public servants, both "wealthy" and "not wealthy," according to Ernie Eves' criteria.
more »

Platform Promises Party Platforms
Compare the platform promises of the three main parties, point by point.
more »

Media Election Video and Audio
Daily archives of election video and audio in a variety of streaming formats from CBC Radio and CBC Television.
more »

Twenty Elections from the Archives
From the Big Blue Machine to Premier Bob, the Common Sense Revolution and beyond, CBC Archives looks back at nearly 20 turbulent years of Ontario elections.
more »

Your View
Tell us your view about the election, the party platforms and leaders, and issues during the campaign.
more »

Student Vote 2003
Find out how more than 500,000 Ontario students will get into the habit of voting during this provincial election.
more >>

Terms of Use | Privacy | Copyright | Other Policies
Copyright © CBC 2003