HomeRadioTelevisionLocalShop Personalize your Online Experience Become a member Sign in
Nunavut Votes 2004
Nunavut Legislature

 Indepth Features
 Voter Resources
 Your View

  Main > Constituency Profiles > Constituency Details
Voting Day February 16, 2004  

Candidate Vote Count Pop. Vote X
Olayuk Akesuk 300 58.94% X
Martha Lyta 110 21.61%
Malicktoo Lyta 99 19.45%
 Last Update Tue Feb 17 1:06:32 EST 2004 2 of 2 polls reporting
South Baffin


Olayuk Akesuk
Malicktoo Lyta
Martha Lyta

Current MLA:

Hon. Olayuk Akesuk, Minister of Sustainable Development

Constituency Profile: This electoral Constituency stretches along the uplands of southwestern Baffin Island. The major community here is Cape Dorset (pop. 1,148), on the shores of Foxe Peninsula. Known as the birthplace of modern Inuit carving and printmaking, the community draws wealthy collectors from around the world. As a "decentralized" hamlet, around 50 territorial jobs have arrived here since 1999. But the cash-flow from art and government has had a dark side: Substance abuse and violence are felt to be particularly severe here. Southeast of Cape Dorset is the riding's second community, Kimmirut (pop. 433), which profits from carving, as well as from tourism associated with nearby Katannilik Territorial Park. There has been talk of linking this community to Iqaluit via a 160-kilometre road.

Political History: Cape Dorset's Olayuk Akesuk was the giant-killer of the 1999 election, toppling N.W.T. deputy premier Goo Arlooktoo of Kimmirut, who many thought was a shoe-in for the Nunavut premiership. The defeat left Arlooktoo's supporters bitter, and they accused Akesuk, a former economic development officer, of making pie-in-the-sky promises to voters. But the upset may have had more to do with math: Cape Dorset is the biggest community in the Constituency, and locals seemed eager to elect a hometown candidate. Akesuk, born in 1965, is Nunavut's youngest assembly member. He served for a year as a regular MLA before joining cabinet as minister of Sustainable Development.
Olayuk Akesuk    368 (53.18%)
Goo Arlooktoo    232 (33.53%)
Matthew Saveakjuk    92 (13.29%)
Voter turnout    91.23%

Goo Arlooktoo    256 (33.33%)
Matthew Saveakjuk Jaw   162 (21.09%)
Peter Kattuk   128 (16.67%)
Voter turnout    78.35%

Kenoayoak Pudlat    119 (19.16%)
Joe Arlooktoo   100 (16.10%)
Padluq Melia   96 (15.46%)
Voter turnout    71.79% (third lowest in Nunavut)

*Prior to 1999, Cape Dorset and Kimmirut were part of the N.W.T.'s Baffin South electoral Constituency, which included the community of Sanikiluaq.

The Speaker of the Nunavut Legislative Assembly

  Constituency Profiles


In Their Own Words

Visit the Indepth Features section for a look at "The First Five Years", "The Inuit Way", "Nunavut Economy" and "Housing".

In Their Own Words

In Their Own Words
CBC Radio Nunavut has given each of the candidates in the election the opportunity to make a short statement about why they are running for the territorial assembly. Hear their statements >

Twenty Questions

Twenty Questions
How do you tell if a certain candidate has the right ideas to represent your community? You might want to ask them some of the following questions.. Full Story >

Nunavut Budget

Nunavut Budget: Facing Tough Decisions
Kelvin Ng had to find proper footwear for his budget speech, something that reflected the serious message he had to give his fellow MLAs. Full Story >

The Public Life of Nunavut

The Public Life in Nunavut
Jack Anawak, outgoing MLA for Rankin Inlet North, offers his thoughts on what makes campaigning in Nunavut unique. Full Story >

CBC Archives

CBC Archives:
On the Nunavut Campaign Trail
more >


Terms of Use | Privacy | Copyright | Other Policies
Copyright © CBC 2003