HomeRadioTelevisionLocalShop Personalize your Online Experience Become a member Sign in
Nunavut Votes 2004
Nunavut Legislature

 Indepth Features
 Voter Resources
 Your View

  Main > Constituency Profiles > Constituency Details
Voting Day February 16, 2004  

Candidate Vote Count Pop. Vote X
Levi Barnabas 174 43.94% X
Rebekah Uqi Williams 99 25%
Larry Audlaluk 57 14.39%
Anthony Ullikatar 28 7.07%
Pauloosie Attagootak 21 5.3%
Lucas Amagoalik 17 4.29%
 Last Update Tue Feb 17 1:06:32 EST 2004 3 of 3 polls reporting


Lucas Amagoalik
Pauloosie Attagootak
Larry Audlaluk
Levi Barnabas
Anthony Ullikatar
Rebekah Uqi Williams

Current MLA:

Rebekah Williams

Constituency Profile: Canada's northernmost electoral riding, Quttiktuq, stretches from Baffin Island's Brodeur and Borden peninsulas to the north tip of Ellesmere Island, just 700 kilometres shy of the pole. Nunavut's highest mountains and largest icecaps are here, as are thermal oases like Lake Hazen, in Quttinirpaaq National Park. The major community is Arctic Bay (pop. 646). A 21-kilometre road - Nunavut's only highway -- links the hamlet to the Nanisivik silver-zinc mine, which closed recently after a quarter-century of operation. Most employees were southerners, though at least 30 locals lost their jobs. The 2002 shutdown of the Polaris lead-zinc mine on Little Cornwallis Island had a similar impact on tiny Resolute (pop. 215), though the community remains a transportation hub for wealthy tourists and High Arctic adventurers. Quiet Grise Fiord (pop.163) is Canada's northernmost community, but is culturally linked to northern Quebec, from which many of its residents were forcibly relocated in the 1950s. None of the Quttiktuq's communities are "decentralized," and territorial jobs are thus scarce.

Political History: Nunavut's second female MLA, social worker Rebekah Williams, joined the assembly following a December 2000 by-election held to fill the seat of Speaker Levi Barnabas. Barnabas, who ran third in the by-election, had resigned several months earlier after pleading guilty to sexual assault. In 1999 and 1995, Barnabas had won comfortably. Elections in Quttiktuq have almost always been hotly contested: six candidates vied in the 1999 election, and eight competed in the 2000 by-election. Voter turnout here is consistently the lowest in Nunavut, due largely to the minimal turnout at the Nanisivik and Polaris mines.
2000 By-Election  
Rebekah Williams    88 (20.85%)
David Roberts    80 (18.95%)
Levi Barnabas    73 (17.29%)
Voter turnout    70.68%

Levi Barnabas    155 (35.31%)
Larry Audlaluk    100 (22.78%)
Elizabeth Roberts    71 (16.17%)
Voter turnout    67.99% (lowest in Nunavut)

Levi Barnabas    135 (34.44%)
Elizabeth Roberts    90 (22.96%)
Aziz Kheraj   89 (22.70%)
Voter turnout    64.29% (lowest in Nunavut)

Ludy Pudluk   146 (38.52%)
Larry Audlaluk    94 (24.80%)
David Kalluk   65 (17.15%)
Voter turnout    58.55% (lowest in Nunavut)

The Speaker of the Nunavut Legislative Assembly

  Constituency Profiles


In Their Own Words

Visit the Indepth Features section for a look at "The First Five Years", "The Inuit Way", "Nunavut Economy" and "Housing".

In Their Own Words

In Their Own Words
CBC Radio Nunavut has given each of the candidates in the election the opportunity to make a short statement about why they are running for the territorial assembly. Hear their statements >

Twenty Questions

Twenty Questions
How do you tell if a certain candidate has the right ideas to represent your community? You might want to ask them some of the following questions.. Full Story >

Nunavut Budget

Nunavut Budget: Facing Tough Decisions
Kelvin Ng had to find proper footwear for his budget speech, something that reflected the serious message he had to give his fellow MLAs. Full Story >

The Public Life of Nunavut

The Public Life in Nunavut
Jack Anawak, outgoing MLA for Rankin Inlet North, offers his thoughts on what makes campaigning in Nunavut unique. Full Story >

CBC Archives

CBC Archives:
On the Nunavut Campaign Trail
more >


Terms of Use | Privacy | Copyright | Other Policies
Copyright © CBC 2003