HomeRadioTelevisionLocalShop Personalize your Online Experience Become a member Sign in
Nunavut Votes 2004
Nunavut Legislature

 Indepth Features
 Voter Resources
 Your View

  Main > Constituency Profiles > Constituency Details
Voting Day February 16, 2004  

Candidate Vote Count Pop. Vote X
Paul Okalik 415 76.99% X
Doug Workman 124 23.01%
 Last Update Tue Feb 17 1:06:32 EST 2004 3 of 3 polls reporting
Iqaluit West


Paul Okalik
Doug Workman

Current MLA:

Hon. Paul Okalik, Premier, Minister of Justice

Constituency Profile: This Constituency is essential Iqaluit (pop. 5,236): a jostling mixture of old and new, rich and poor, Inuit and non-Inuit. Government infrastructure is everywhere: the Nunavut assembly building, the new federal building, City Hall, the headquarters of Nunavut Tunngavik Inc. and the Qikiqtani Inuit Association. The "West 40" area is the industrial heart of the city, the airport and the sealift beach are transportation hubs, and downtown -- around the so-called Four Corners intersection -- new shops and restaurants are springing up. Many voters in this Constituency live in the neighbourhood called Lower Base - a name that recalls Iqaluit's days as a U.S. military air station. Iqaluit's other roots are apparent in the neighbourhood centred around the Frobisher Bay waterfront, where hunting shacks and sealing boats bespeak residents' continued link to the land.

Political History: In 1999, only days after becoming Nunavut's first Inuk lawyer, political newcomer Paul Okalik easily won this seat over Iqaluit deputy mayor Ben Ell. Ell, at 64, was the oldest candidate in that year's election; Okalik was a fresh-faced 34. Weeks later, youth triumphed again, as Okalik was a surprise pick for premier. Prior to 1999, Iqaluit West was part of the N.W.T.'s Iqaluit electoral Constituency. Edward Picco, who is now Nunavut's health minister, reigned here from 1995-99. Lawyer Dennis Patterson held the riding prior to that.
Paul Okalik   334 (50.61%)
Ben Ell   166 (25.15%)
Matthew Spence    160 (24.24%)
Voter turnout    82.38%

Edward Picco   695 (48.30%)
Mary Ekho-Wilman    644 (44.75%)
Gordon McIntosh    100 (6.95%)
Voter turnout    105.24% (highest in Nunavut)

Dennis Patterson    866 (60.14%)
Val Haas   405 (28.13%)
Bryan Pearson    169 (11.74%)
Voter turnout    90.20% (third highest in Nunavut)

*Prior to 1999, Iqaluit Centre was part of the N.W.T.'s Iqaluit electoral Constituency.

The Speaker of the Nunavut Legislative Assembly

  Constituency Profiles


In Their Own Words

Visit the Indepth Features section for a look at "The First Five Years", "The Inuit Way", "Nunavut Economy" and "Housing".

In Their Own Words

In Their Own Words
CBC Radio Nunavut has given each of the candidates in the election the opportunity to make a short statement about why they are running for the territorial assembly. Hear their statements >

Twenty Questions

Twenty Questions
How do you tell if a certain candidate has the right ideas to represent your community? You might want to ask them some of the following questions.. Full Story >

Nunavut Budget

Nunavut Budget: Facing Tough Decisions
Kelvin Ng had to find proper footwear for his budget speech, something that reflected the serious message he had to give his fellow MLAs. Full Story >

The Public Life of Nunavut

The Public Life in Nunavut
Jack Anawak, outgoing MLA for Rankin Inlet North, offers his thoughts on what makes campaigning in Nunavut unique. Full Story >

CBC Archives

CBC Archives:
On the Nunavut Campaign Trail
more >


Terms of Use | Privacy | Copyright | Other Policies
Copyright © CBC 2003