HomeRadioTelevisionLocalShop Personalize your Online Experience Become a member Sign in
Nunavut Votes 2004
Nunavut Legislature

 Indepth Features
 Voter Resources
 Your View

  Main > Constituency Profiles > Constituency Details
Voting Day February 16, 2004  

Candidate Vote Count Pop. Vote X
Edward Walter Picco 569 70.68% X
John Amagoalik 186 23.11%
Norman Ishulutak 50 6.21%
 Last Update Tue Feb 17 1:06:32 EST 2004 3 of 3 polls reporting
Iqaluit East


John Amagoalik
Norman Ishulutak
Edward Walter Picco

Current MLA:

Hon. Edward Picco, Minister of Health and Social Services

Constituency Profile: Iqaluit (pop. 5,236) is booming: Between 1996 and 2001, Nunavut's capital grew faster than all but one other city in Canada. Much of the surge is taking place here, in the Iqaluit East electoral Constituency, as pre-fab apartments spring up in the high-density subdivision of "Lego Land," and as Arctic mansions rise in posh Tundra Valley. Also in this Constituency is the satellite community of Apex -- once an Inuit village, now a trendy bedroom community for government workers. Compared to the rest of Nunavut, voters in Iqaluit East are disproportionately wealthy and non-Inuit. There are few commercial ventures in this Constituency, but the new arena and middle school are both here. Joamie Elementary School was here too, until it burned to the ground last summer.

Political History: In 1995, Edward Picco, a former Hudson Bay store manager and adult educator, gained a place in the N.W.T. assembly with a narrow win over civil servant Mary Wilman. Then, in 1999's most decisive win, he trounced businesswoman Natsiq Kango to take the Nunavut assembly's Iqaluit East seat. Picco's campaign was the costliest in Nunavut: he spent $17,520, or nearly $36 per vote. With the retirement of Kelvin Ng, another win would make Picco one of Nunavut's longest-serving MLAs. Voter turnout here has tended to be very high.
Edward Picco     490 (73.13%)
Natsiq Kango   180 (26.87%)
Voter turnout    97.67%

Edward Picco   695 (48.30%)
Mary Ekho-Wilman    644 (44.75%)
Gordon McIntosh    100 (6.95%)
Voter turnout    105.24% (highest in Nunavut)

Dennis Patterson    866 (60.14%)
Val Haas   405 (28.13%)
Bryan Pearson    169 (11.74%)
Voter turnout    90.20% (third highest in Nunavut)

*Prior to 1999, Iqaluit Centre was part of the N.W.T.'s Iqaluit electoral Constituency.

The Speaker of the Nunavut Legislative Assembly

  Constituency Profiles


In Their Own Words

Visit the Indepth Features section for a look at "The First Five Years", "The Inuit Way", "Nunavut Economy" and "Housing".

In Their Own Words

In Their Own Words
CBC Radio Nunavut has given each of the candidates in the election the opportunity to make a short statement about why they are running for the territorial assembly. Hear their statements >

Twenty Questions

Twenty Questions
How do you tell if a certain candidate has the right ideas to represent your community? You might want to ask them some of the following questions.. Full Story >

Nunavut Budget

Nunavut Budget: Facing Tough Decisions
Kelvin Ng had to find proper footwear for his budget speech, something that reflected the serious message he had to give his fellow MLAs. Full Story >

The Public Life of Nunavut

The Public Life in Nunavut
Jack Anawak, outgoing MLA for Rankin Inlet North, offers his thoughts on what makes campaigning in Nunavut unique. Full Story >

CBC Archives

CBC Archives:
On the Nunavut Campaign Trail
more >


Terms of Use | Privacy | Copyright | Other Policies
Copyright © CBC 2003