HomeRadioTelevisionLocalShop Personalize your Online Experience Become a member Sign in
Nunavut Votes 2004
Nunavut Legislature

 Indepth Features
 Voter Resources
 Your View

  Main > Constituency Profiles > Constituency Details
Voting Day February 16, 2004  

Candidate Vote Count Pop. Vote X
Hunter Tootoo 263 44.8% X
Mike Courtney 167 28.45%
Natsiq Alainga-Kango 78 13.29%
Mary Ellen Thomas 37 6.3%
Kevin MacCormack 29 4.94%
Pauloosie Paniloo 13 2.21%
 Last Update Tue Feb 17 1:06:32 EST 2004 3 of 3 polls reporting
Iqaluit Centre


Natsiq Alainga-Kango
Mike Courtney
Kevin MacCormack
Pauloosie Paniloo
Mary Ellen Thomas
Hunter Tootoo

Current MLA:

Hunter Tootoo

Constituency Profile: As its name implies, this Constituency is the core of Iqaluit (pop. 5,236). Much of the housing here is high density, like the aptly named Six- and Eight-Storey apartment buildings. Some of it is also low income, like the much-maligned White Row units. Iqaluit's most notable landmark, the Astro Hill shopping-and-recreation complex, stands prominently at the heart of the riding, overlooking the hospital, the Anglican church, and Nakasuk and Inuksuk schools. Unlike in Iqaluit's other two electoral Constituencys, little new development has taken place here since 1999.

Political History: Hunter Tootoo, an NDP loyalist and former director with the N.W.T. Housing Corp., won this Constituency easily in 1999, collecting three times the votes of the runner-up, councillor Lynda Gunn. Prior to division, Iqaluit Centre was part of the N.W.T.'s Iqaluit electoral Constituency, and was represented from 1995-99 by Ed Picco. Voter turnout in 1999 was very high, with the number of ballots exceeding the number of enumerated voters.
Hunter Tootoo     261 (54.83%)
Lynda Gunn   96 (20.17%)
Johnny Nowdlak    64 (13.45%)
Voter turnout    114.94% ** (second highest in Nunavut)

Edward Picco   695 (48.30%)
Mary Ekho-Wilman    644 (44.75%)
Gordon McIntosh    100 (6.95%)
Voter turnout    105.24% (highest in Nunavut)

Dennis Patterson    866 (60.14%)
Val Haas   405 (28.13%)
Bryan Pearson    169 (11.74%)
Voter turnout    90.20% (third highest in Nunavut)

*Prior to 1999, Iqaluit Centre was part of the N.W.T.'s Iqaluit electoral Constituency **Because of problems in enumeration, voter turnouts occasionally are greater than the voter's list.

The Speaker of the Nunavut Legislative Assembly

  Constituency Profiles


In Their Own Words

Visit the Indepth Features section for a look at "The First Five Years", "The Inuit Way", "Nunavut Economy" and "Housing".

In Their Own Words

In Their Own Words
CBC Radio Nunavut has given each of the candidates in the election the opportunity to make a short statement about why they are running for the territorial assembly. Hear their statements >

Twenty Questions

Twenty Questions
How do you tell if a certain candidate has the right ideas to represent your community? You might want to ask them some of the following questions.. Full Story >

Nunavut Budget

Nunavut Budget: Facing Tough Decisions
Kelvin Ng had to find proper footwear for his budget speech, something that reflected the serious message he had to give his fellow MLAs. Full Story >

The Public Life of Nunavut

The Public Life in Nunavut
Jack Anawak, outgoing MLA for Rankin Inlet North, offers his thoughts on what makes campaigning in Nunavut unique. Full Story >

CBC Archives

CBC Archives:
On the Nunavut Campaign Trail
more >


Terms of Use | Privacy | Copyright | Other Policies
Copyright © CBC 2003