HomeRadioTelevisionLocalShop Personalize your Online Experience Become a member Sign in
Nunavut Votes 2004
Nunavut Legislature

 Indepth Features
 Voter Resources
 Your View

  Main > Constituency Profiles > Constituency Details
Voting Day February 16, 2004  

Candidate Vote Count Pop. Vote X
Peter Kattuk 127 42.76% X
Moses Appaqaq Jr. 92 30.98%
Johnny Tookalook 30 10.1%
Kupapik Ningeocheak 29 9.76%
Joe Arragutainaq 19 6.4%
 Last Update Tue Feb 17 1:06:32 EST 2004 1 of 1 polls reporting
Hudson Bay


Moses Appaqaq Jr.
Joe Arragutainaq
Peter Kattuk
Kupapik Ningeocheak
Johnny Tookalook

Current MLA:

Hon. Peter Kattuk, Minister of Public Works and Services

Constituency Profile: The Hudson Bay electoral Constituency is perhaps the most unlikely in Nunavut. Formed from a scattering of islands stretching hundreds of kilometers along the eastern edge of Hudson and James bays, the Constituency includes only one community, Sanikiluaq (pop. 684). Situated on the Belcher Islands offshore of Quebec, Sanikiluaq's southerly location (it is nearly as close to Ottawa as to Iqaluit) isolates it from Nunavut. Instead, cultural and transportation links are with the Nunavik mainland. The community was formed only in 1971, with the consolidation of two outpost camps. As a "non-decentralized" hamlet there are few territorial government jobs here, but traditional practices are strong. Around 95 per cent of the residents are Inuit. This riding is the least populous in Nunavut.

Political History: Former Sanikiluaq mayor Peter Kattuk captured the new Hudson Bay seat by a comfortable margin in 1999, quashing the comeback hopes of carver Moses Appaqaq Jr., who represented the community in the N.W.T. assembly from 1979-87. Back in those days, Sanikiluaq was a stand-alone riding; from 1991-99 it was in the N.W.T.'s Baffin South riding, and was represented from afar by residents of Kimmirut. Voter turnout here has tended to be low.
Peter Kattuk   165 (60.89%)
Moses Appaqaq Jr.    106 (39.11%)
Voter turnout    79.01%

Goo Arlooktoo    256 (33.33%)
Matthew Saveakjuk Jaw   162 (21.09%)
Peter Kattuk   128 (16.67%)
Voter turnout    78.35%

Kenoayoak Pudlat    119 (19.16%)
Joe Arlooktoo   100 (16.10%)
Padluq Melia   96 (15.46%)
Voter turnout    71.79% (third lowest in Nunavut)

*Prior to 1999, Hudson Bay was part of the N.W.T.'s Baffin South electoral Constituency, which included the communities of Cape Dorset and Kimmirut.

The Speaker of the Nunavut Legislative Assembly

  Constituency Profiles


In Their Own Words

Visit the Indepth Features section for a look at "The First Five Years", "The Inuit Way", "Nunavut Economy" and "Housing".

In Their Own Words

In Their Own Words
CBC Radio Nunavut has given each of the candidates in the election the opportunity to make a short statement about why they are running for the territorial assembly. Hear their statements >

Twenty Questions

Twenty Questions
How do you tell if a certain candidate has the right ideas to represent your community? You might want to ask them some of the following questions.. Full Story >

Nunavut Budget

Nunavut Budget: Facing Tough Decisions
Kelvin Ng had to find proper footwear for his budget speech, something that reflected the serious message he had to give his fellow MLAs. Full Story >

The Public Life of Nunavut

The Public Life in Nunavut
Jack Anawak, outgoing MLA for Rankin Inlet North, offers his thoughts on what makes campaigning in Nunavut unique. Full Story >

CBC Archives

CBC Archives:
On the Nunavut Campaign Trail
more >


Terms of Use | Privacy | Copyright | Other Policies
Copyright © CBC 2003