Nova Scotia Votes 2006
Main > District Profiles > District Details

District Profiles

CandidatePartyVote CountVote ShareElected
Keith ColwellLIB185342.13%X
Dwayne ProvoPC162036.83%
Douglas M. SparksNDP84319.17%
David C. FarrellGREEN821.86%
June 19, 4:26:45 PM ADT 1 of 1 polls reporting




Current MLA: Keith Colwell (LIB)

Riding Profile: This is the province's smallest riding, with a population of 11,640. It encompasses areas of suburban affluence and rural poverty, and was created in 1993 to give black Nova Scotians a better chance of seeing themselves represented in the legislature.

The riding includes historically important black communities at North Preston, East Preston and Cherrybrook. About one third of the riding's residents are black.

It was created from parts of Halifax Eastern Shore and the Cole Harbour area of Dartmouth. Last fall, a boundary change led to the inclusion of Porter's Lake, a quickly growing bedroom community.

Most people in this riding work in Metro Halifax in the trade and service sectors. The average income is $27,580 and 41 per cent of the people have some form of post-secondary training.

Unemployment remains much higher for young black men than the overall seven-per-cent rate for Metro Halifax.


Issues: Issues include roads, education, car insurance and Sunday shopping.


Political History: NDP Yvonne Atwell made political history in Nova Scotia when she became the first black woman to be elected to the legislature in 1998.

Prior to the creation of Preston, the former riding of Halifax Eastern Shore was held in the 1970s by Garnet Brown for the Liberals, and by PC Tom McInnis in the 1980s.

It's always been a difficult race to predict, and the last election was no exception. The top three candidates were within 80 votes of one another.

2003: LIB Keith Colwell garnered 33 per cent of the vote (1,411 votes) and defeated incumbent PC David Hendsbee by just 50 votes. NDP Doug Sparks came in third with 30 fewer votes than Hendsbee. MP Marc-Boris St-Maurice got 50 votes.
1999: PC David Hendsbee received 1,800 votes, defeating NDP Yvonne Atwell (1,496) and LIB Wendell Thomas (509).
1998: NDP Yvonne Atwell defeated LIB incumbent Wayne Adams by 229 votes. PC Ross Isenor was third.
1993: LIB Wayne Adams received 1,872 votes to defeat IND David Hendsbee, who polled 1,381. PC Darryl Gray was third with 1,016 and NDP Yvonne Atwell received 584.

Voter Turnout: 63 per cent in 2003.


District Profiles

Overall Election Results
PartyElectedLeadingTotalVote Share
PC230 2339.57%
GRN00 0 2.33%
Last Update:June 19, 4:26:45 PM ADT

District Map

District map - 43 Preston

From Elections N.S.:
External link opens in a new window43 Preston (1.18 mb - PDF)

(External link opens in a new window External links will open in a new window. Acrobat Reader required - download free Acrobat Reader. The CBC does not endorse and is not responsible for the content of external sites.)
^ Top of page