Nova Scotia Votes 2006
Main > District Profiles > District Details

District Profiles

CandidatePartyVote CountVote ShareElected
David MorsePC378842.37%X
David MangleNDP313035.01%
Ray SavageLIB179720.1%
Steve McGowanGREEN2262.53%
June 19, 4:26:45 PM ADT 1 of 1 polls reporting




Current MLA: David Morse (PC), Minister of Community Services, Minister responsible for the Disabled Persons' Commission Act, Minister of Emergency Management

Riding Profile: Kings South includes the southern part of Kings County, the Cambridge and Horton Reserves, and the town of Wolfville. Wolfville is home to Acadia University with 4,200 students and the Grand Pre National Historic site.

It also includes much of the shopping and manufacturing corridor between Wolfville and Kentville; these sectors are the main employers in areas such as New Minas and Coldbrook. Unemployment was less than five per cent last November but climbed to eight per cent early this year.

The university and the chicken co-op are the largest employers. Educational levels are higher than the provincial average with 17 per cent of residents holding a bachelor's degree or higher. But double that number have not obtained a high-school diploma. Creating enough well-paying jobs to keep university and community college graduates in Kings County is a major issue.

The population is 19,870 and the average income is $24,750.


Issues: The twinning of Highway 101 to Coldbrook, a shortage of family doctors, environmental issues over land use and water, a date for natural gas distribution to the Valley.


Political History: Kings South has been won by all three political parties in the past 15 years and in at least three instances, the margin of victory has been less than 10 per cent. This often makes for dramatic results on election night.

2003: PC David Morse received 37 per cent of the vote with 3,347 votes. He defeated NDP David Mangle by 553 votes. LIB Maura Ryan came in a strong third with 30 per cent of the popular vote. NSP Victor Harris got 67 votes.
1999: PC David Morse defeated LIB cabinet minister Robbie Harrison by 650 votes. NDP Mary DeWolfe was third with 26 per cent of the popular vote.
1998: LIB Robbie Harrison defeated NDP Mary DeWolfe by 358 votes and PC David Morse by nearly 600 votes.
1993: LIB Robbie Harrison beat PC Harry How by 128 votes, a margin of one per cent. Derrick Kimball ran as an IND and finished third, NDP Steve Mattson was fourth.
1988: PC Derrick Kimball defeated NDP Steve Mattson by 452 votes.
1984: NDP Bob Levy defeated PC Paul Kinsman by just 21 votes. Levy had run and lost in Kings North in 1981.
1981: PC Attorney-General Harry How defeated NDP Evelyn Garbary by 2,992 votes.

Voter Turnout: 68 per cent in 2003.


District Profiles

Overall Election Results
PartyElectedLeadingTotalVote Share
PC230 2339.57%
GRN00 0 2.33%
Last Update:June 19, 4:26:45 PM ADT

District Map

District map - 36 Kings South

From Elections N.S.:
External link opens in a new window36 Kings South (1.55 mb - PDF)

(External link opens in a new window External links will open in a new window. Acrobat Reader required - download free Acrobat Reader. The CBC does not endorse and is not responsible for the content of external sites.)
^ Top of page