Nova Scotia Votes 2006
Main > District Profiles > District Details

District Profiles

DISTRICT: Inverness
CandidatePartyVote CountVote ShareElected
Rodney MacDonaldPC740470.47%X
Mary MacLennanLIB162715.49%
Tim MurphyNDP134212.77%
John G. GibsonGREEN1331.27%
June 19, 4:26:45 PM ADT 1 of 1 polls reporting




Current MLA: Rodney MacDonald (PC), Premier

Riding Profile: This is the biggest riding in Cape Breton. It's largely rural and wooded, and includes all of Inverness County and the Whycocomagh Reserve. The riding stretches from Port Hawkesbury at the Canso Causeway in the south, all the way up the western side of the Island to Meat Cove at the northern tip.

The main population centres are Port Hood and Port Hawkesbury (which used to be part of Guysborough prior to the boundary change), as well as the village of Inverness.

The service sector employs the most people, while fishing, forestry and tourism are the mainstays of the economy.

The riding is home to the Inverness Miners Museum and the Margaree Salmon Museum.

A declining population and access to health services are big issues in the rural part of this riding. In the urban areas at the Strait, roadwork and a new civic center have been recently announced for Port Hawkesbury. School upgrades have also been promised.

The total population is 20,680 and the average income is $23,340. About 60 per cent of people in this riding have a high-school education or some post-secondary training. Unemployment runs about 16 per cent.


Political History: The riding was created in 1993 from most of Inverness North and Inverness South. PC Billy Joe MacLean, the current mayor of Port Hawkesbury, held the southern part during much of the 1980s. Liberal John Archie MacKenzie held the northern part of the county for many years.

Current MLA PC Rodney MacDonald is a professional fiddler and high-school teacher.

2003: PC Rodney MacDonald got 51 per cent of the vote to defeat LIB Debbie Gillis by 1,527 votes. NDP Tim Murphy came in third with 1,277.
1999: PC Rodney MacDonald received 3,876 votes to defeat LIB Charles MacDonald who polled 3,549 and NDP Roy Yipp, who got 1,612.
1998: LIB Charles MacDonald defeated NDP Maria Coady by 2,100 votes. PC Randy MacDonald took 1,951.
1993: LIB Charles MacArthur received 60 per cent of the popular vote to PC Frank Crowdis' 30 per cent. NDP Mary Goodwin came third.

Voter Turnout: 91 per cent in 2003.


District Profiles

Overall Election Results
PartyElectedLeadingTotalVote Share
PC230 2339.57%
GRN00 0 2.33%
Last Update:June 19, 4:26:45 PM ADT

District Map

District map - 34 Inverness

From Elections N.S.:
External link opens in a new window34 Inverness (9.23 mb - PDF)

(External link opens in a new window External links will open in a new window. Acrobat Reader required - download free Acrobat Reader. The CBC does not endorse and is not responsible for the content of external sites.)
^ Top of page