Nova Scotia Votes 2006
Main > District Profiles > District Details

District Profiles

CandidatePartyVote CountVote ShareElected
Dave WilsonLIB332743.08%X
Myrtle Turnbull CampbellNDP223428.93%
Mark BettensPC207426.85%
Todd PettigrewGREEN881.14%
June 19, 4:26:45 PM ADT 1 of 1 polls reporting




Current MLA: Dave Wilson (LIB)

Riding Profile: This riding was known as Cape Breton East until incumbent Dave Wilson successfully campaigned to have it renamed Glace Bay.

The new name accurately reflects the riding, which consists almost entirely of the town of Glace Bay.

The riding was once the coal centre of Cape Breton. Now, the former headquarters of the Cape Breton Development Corporation's coal division is home to the Stream International call centre. The former headquarters of the United Mine Workers was recently torn down during a facelift of Glace Bay's main street.


Issues: Jobs and car insurance top the list.

Some voters are happy with the government's recent education announcements (Glace Bay will get a new junior high school), and with a great deal of roadwork and downtown renovation in Glace Bay.

Others are more skeptical and say that, apart from the call centre, there has been little done to create jobs.

The unemployment rate hovers around 16 per cent. The average income is $20,340, and the population is 17,710 but steadily declining. Educational levels suggest about half the people in this riding have some post-secondary training and half have not completed high school.


Political History: The 1999 election in this riding was a real cliffhanger: Liberal Dave Wilson beat NDP Cecil Sacchary by just five votes. The NDP challenged the results in court, resulting in a byelection in April 2000 that Wilson won by 408 votes. In 2003, Wilson held on to the riding, winning by 2,078 votes.

2003: LIB Dave Wilson received 54 per cent of the vote and defeated NDP Vince Hall by 2,078 votes. PC Mark Bettens got 1,351.
2000: LIB Dave Wilson defeated NDP Cecil Sacchary by 408 votes. PC Brad Kerr came in third with 1,644.
1999: LIB Dave Wilson defeated NDP Cecil Sacchary by 5 votes. PC Brad Kerr polled 1,043.
1998: NDP Reeves Matheson defeated LIB Clarence Routledge by 2,143 votes. PC Henry Boutilier was third.
1993: LIB John MacEachern defeated NDP Terry McVarish by nearly 6,000 votes.
1988: LIB John MacEachern defeated PC Bruce Clark.

Voter Turnout: 63 per cent in 2003.


District Profiles

Overall Election Results
PartyElectedLeadingTotalVote Share
PC230 2339.57%
GRN00 0 2.33%
Last Update:June 19, 4:26:45 PM ADT

District Map

District map - 23 Glace Bay

From Elections N.S.:
External link opens in a new window23 Glace Bay (318 kb - PDF)

(External link opens in a new window External links will open in a new window. Acrobat Reader required - download free Acrobat Reader. The CBC does not endorse and is not responsible for the content of external sites.)
^ Top of page