Nova Scotia Votes 2006
Main > District Profiles > District Details

District Profiles

DISTRICT: Eastern Shore
CandidatePartyVote CountVote ShareElected
Bill DooksPC323245.93%X
Sidney PrestNDP287140.8%
Judith CabritaLIB74610.6%
Elizabeth van DreunenGREEN1882.67%
June 19, 4:26:45 PM ADT 1 of 1 polls reporting




Current MLA: Bill Dooks (PC)

Riding Profile: Eastern Shore was first created in 1993 from the riding of Halifax Eastern Shore. It continues to be both a bedroom community (within a half-hour commute of Halifax) and a largely rural riding hugging the Atlantic Coast.

As a result of further boundary changes since the last election, Eastern Shore stretches from Lawrencetown Beach (home to the surfer dudes) in the south, past the growing community of Musquodoboit Harbour, to Clam Harbour, where an annual Sandcastle competition attracts people from all over the province.

Forestry, fishing and eco-tourism pursuits tied to hiking trails and sea kayaking are the main economic sectors. Taylor Head Provincial Park is located in this riding.

Musquodoboit Harbour includes a hospital, a clinic and several nursing homes for senior citizens.

The population is 14,330 and the average income is $27,000. The educational level is slightly above the provincial average.


Issues: The main issues in this riding are the poor state of Highway 7 along the Eastern Shore and car insurance.

Another huge issue is access to affordable transportation for seniors who need medical attention in Halifax.

Area residents also want more attention from the province to help develop outdoor recreation opportunities that will attract tourists. Sustainable forest practices are an issue; so is the price of home-heating oil.

Voters say there's a sense that this area continues to be forgotten by politicians.


Political History: Eastern Shore has proven to be a "swing" riding since its creation in 1993. But even before that, Liberal Garnie Brown held the seat for a number of years in the Regan era, only to be followed by PC MLA Tom McInnis during the Buchanan years.

2003: PC Bill Dooks defeated NDP Sidney Prest by 646 votes. LIB Randy Carter was third with 19 per cent of the vote.
1999: PC Bill Dooks defeated incumbent LIB Keith Colwell by 1,000 votes. NDP Mary Tzagarakis was third with 23 per cent of the vote.
1998: LIB Keith Colwell defeated NDP Darren Richard by 500 votes in a three-way race. PC Greg Brown was third with 29 per cent of the vote.
1993: LIB Keith Colwell squeaked past PC Tom McInnis by 237 votes. Gary Moore of the NDP was third.
1988: PC Tom McInnis defeated LIB Eric Hill by 1,952 votes.
1984: PC Tom McInnis defeated LIB Paul MacKenzie by more than 3,000 votes.

Voter Turnout: 69 per cent in 2003.


District Profiles

Overall Election Results
PartyElectedLeadingTotalVote Share
PC230 2339.57%
GRN00 0 2.33%
Last Update:June 19, 4:26:45 PM ADT

District Map

District map - 22 Eastern Shore

From Elections N.S.:
External link opens in a new window22 Eastern Shore
(3.9 mb - PDF)

(External link opens in a new window External links will open in a new window. Acrobat Reader required - download free Acrobat Reader. The CBC does not endorse and is not responsible for the content of external sites.)
^ Top of page