Nova Scotia Votes 2006
Main > District Profiles > District Details

District Profiles

DISTRICT: Digby-Annapolis
CandidatePartyVote CountVote ShareElected
Harold (Jr.) TheriaultLIB303450.91%X
Jimmy MacAlpinePC217036.42%
Andrew OliverNDP66311.13%
Namron BeanGREEN921.54%
June 19, 4:26:45 PM ADT 1 of 1 polls reporting




Current MLA: Harold Theriault Jr. (LIB)

Riding Profile: Digby-Annapolis includes the town of Digby, the district of Digby, Cornwallis Park, two districts in Annapolis County and the Bear River reserve. The population is 14,350 with about one-third of the people living in Digby, home to the Digby Scallop Festival, a provincial resort, and the Digby General Hospital.

While fishing, fish processing and manufacturing are important and generate about 25 per cent of employment, more people have jobs in the services and trade sectors.

The riding is home to a provincial theme park, and wilderness areas that include Kejimkujik National Park and whale watching in the Bay of Fundy.

Educational and income levels in the riding are lower than the Nova Scotia average. The average income is $20,130 and 32 per cent have some form of post-secondary training. The unemployment rate is about 11 per cent.


Issues: Environment: the government's approval of a stone quarry on Digby Neck has angered many residents who continue to fight it.

Job creation: the population has dropped 15 per cent in 10 years.

Health care: a shortage of family doctors and difficulty retaining services at the hospital.

Roads and car insurance.


Political History: The riding was created in 1993 when Digby merged with the western half of Annapolis West. The former riding of Digby was held by veteran Liberal Joe Casey from 1970-1998 with only one lapse from 1984-1988, when Casey did not run and PC Merryl Lawton won the seat.

2003: LIB Harold Theriault Jr. received 2,666 votes and defeated incumbent cabinet PC Gordon Balser by 327. NDP Deborah Trask received 755 and NSP Gordon D. Reid got 91.
1999: PC cabinet minister Gordon Balser received 3,780 votes to defeat LIB Vivian O'Neil who polled 1,550. NDP Steve Downes got 1,105.
1998: PC Gordon Balser defeated LIB John Drish by 250 votes. NDP Steve Downes ran third.
1993: LIB Joe Casey thumped PC Walter MacAlpine by 4,000 votes. NDP Susan Jamieson was third with 797.

Voter Turnout: 65 per cent in 2003.


District Profiles

Overall Election Results
PartyElectedLeadingTotalVote Share
PC230 2339.57%
GRN00 0 2.33%
Last Update:June 19, 4:26:45 PM ADT

District Map

District map - 21 Digby-Annapolis

From Elections N.S.:
External link opens in a new window21 Digby-Annapolis
(4.34 mb - PDF)

(External link opens in a new window External links will open in a new window. Acrobat Reader required - download free Acrobat Reader. The CBC does not endorse and is not responsible for the content of external sites.)
^ Top of page