Nova Scotia Votes 2006
Main > District Profiles > District Details

District Profiles

DISTRICT: Cumberland Sud
CandidatePartyVote CountVote ShareElected
Murray ScottPC508276.76%X
Andrew KernohanNDP75311.37%
Mary Dee MacPhersonLIB68110.29%
James DessartGREEN921.39%
David Raymond AmosIND130.2%
June 19, 4:26:45 PM ADT 1 of 1 polls reporting



Current MLA: Murray Scott, (PC)

Riding Profile: Cumberland South stretches from Ski Wentworth in the east to Advocate Harbour along the Minas Basin in the west. The largely rural riding includes the southern part of Cumberland County as well as the towns of Oxford, Springhill and Parrsboro. It's home to the only toll highway in N.S.

The population is 15,460 and the average income is $20,950. The major employers are the hospitals and school boards followed by several large manufacturers--Oxford Frozen Foods, Parrsboro Metal Fabricators and Ropak, a plastics firm in Springhill.

The area is also building a reputation as a tourism destination thanks to the Anne Murray Center in Springhill and the Joggins Fossil CLiffs and Fundy Geological Museum in Parrsboro.

Unemployment remains stubbornly high at over 11 per cent. Educational levels are lower than the provincial average.


Issues: Poor secondary roads affecting tourism, car insurance, Sunday shopping,centralization of services in Halifax, availability of medical services (hospitals and doctors).


Political History: Cumberland South was created from all of Cumberland Centre and nearly all of Cumberland West in 1993. Cumberland Centre was held by Liberal Guy Brown from 1974 until 1993 and Brown then won Cumberland South in 1993.

Cumberland West was held by the PCs for 20 years until LIB Ross Bragg won in 1988. However, PC Murray Scott was elected in 1998 and has held the riding since. Personal popularity tends to overshadow party loyalty in this neck of the woods.

2003: PC Murray Scott took 72 per cent of the vote with 4,898. LIB Harriet McCready came in second with 1,189 votes and NDP Scott McKee had 745.
1999: PC Murray Scott of Springhill took 71 per cent of the popular vote with 5,527. LIB MIke Uberoi was second with 1,000 votes and NDP Scott McKee had 941.
1998: PC MUrray Scott defeated LIB Mike Uberoi by 2,561 votes.
1993: LIB Guy Brown defeated PC Mac Bennett by 5143 votes.

Voter Turnout: 74 per cent in 2003.


District Profiles

Overall Election Results
PartyElectedLeadingTotalVote Share
PC230 2339.57%
GRN00 0 2.33%
Last Update:June 19, 4:26:45 PM ADT

District Map

District map - 17 Cumberland South

From Elections N.S.:
External link opens in a new window17 Cumberland South
(2.66 mb - PDF)

(External link opens in a new window External links will open in a new window. Acrobat Reader required - download free Acrobat Reader. The CBC does not endorse and is not responsible for the content of external sites.)
^ Top of page