Nova Scotia Votes 2006
Main > District Profiles > District Details

District Profiles

DISTRICT: Cap-Breton Centre
CandidatePartyVote CountVote ShareElected
Frank (Nanky) CorbettNDP349043.65%X
Darren BruckschwaigerPC227428.44%
Laura Lee MacDonaldLIB215226.92%
Frances OommenGREEN790.99%
June 19, 4:26:45 PM ADT 1 of 1 polls reporting




Current MLA: Frank Corbett (NDP)

Riding Profile: Cape Breton Centre is primarily an urban riding, taking in the town of New Waterford, Reserve Mines and a part of the town of Dominion.

This is an area with a rich mining history - but the last coal mine in the riding, Phelan, closed in 1999. Many of the people living in this riding would be former coal miners. So far, not much economic activity has moved into the area to replace the mines.

The unemployment rate is running at about 16 per cent and the average income is $20,800. The total population is 16,260. About half the people have some post-secondary training and a high school diploma while the other half did not complete Grade 12.


Issues: Jobs is an important one. Locals feel New Waterford hasn't received much in the way of job creation money since the mines closed. Many miners are spending six months in Alberta doing construction work, trying to make ends meet. People in the community are looking to someone to bring employment to the town.

The future of the local hospital is also an issue. It's a smaller hospital, and the local health authority wants to close the ER at night, directing patients instead to Glace Bay or Sydney. People in the community believe that's the first step towards closing the hospital, despite assurances from health officials.

Road conditions is another concern.


Political History: In recent years, Conservatives have proven to be an endangered species in this coal miners' riding. No PC has been elected for 20 years.

2003: NDP Frank Corbett received 3,929 votes to beat LIB Basil McGillivray with 3,456. PC candidate Rita Tighe MacLeod received 373 votes.
1999: NDP Frank Corbett received 4,042 votes to defeat LIB Susan Marsh Deruelle with 2,985. The PC candidate John Morrissey received 446 votes.
1998: NDP Frank Corbett defeated LIB Steve Drake by 3,000 votes. PC Julien Frison was a distant third.
1993: LIB Russell MacNeil defeated NDP Victor Tomiczek by 3,000 votes. PC Julien Frison was third.
1990: A byelection in which LIB Russell MacNeil defeated NDP John Stevens by 800 votes.
1989: A byelection in which LIB Russell MacNeil defeated PC "Big" Harold MacDonald by three votes. Declared void.
1988: LIB Buzzy Connors defeated PC "Big" Harold MacDOnald by 1,471 votes.

Voter Turnout: 68 per cent in 2003.


District Profiles

Overall Election Results
PartyElectedLeadingTotalVote Share
PC230 2339.57%
GRN00 0 2.33%
Last Update:June 19, 4:26:45 PM ADT

District Map

District map - 05 Cape Breton Centre

From Elections N.S.:
External link opens in a new window05 Cape Breton Centre
(370 kb - PDF)

(External link opens in a new window External links will open in a new window. Acrobat Reader required - download free Acrobat Reader. The CBC does not endorse and is not responsible for the content of external sites.)
^ Top of page