Nova Scotia Votes 2006
Main > District Profiles > District Details

District Profiles

CandidatePartyVote CountVote ShareElected
Chris d'Entremont PC315867.65%X
Christian Surette LIB91319.56%
Charles M. Muise NDP53111.38%
Patty Doucet-Saunders GREEN661.41%
June 19, 4:26:45 PM ADT 1 of 1 polls reporting




Current MLA: Chris d'Entremont (PC), Minister of Health, Minister of Acadian Affairs, Chair of the Senior Citizens' Secretariat

Riding Profile: Argyle, at the southern tip of Nova Scotia, is home to several small coastal communities in Yarmouth county including Wedgeport, Argyle, and the various Pubnicos (Lower East to Lower West and in between). Fishing is the economic mainstay of the area, although manufacturing and the services sector also provide significant employment.

The riding was created in 1981 (it used to be part of Yarmouth) and is predominantly Acadian, or French speaking, although there are many English descendants of Loyalist families.

The unemployment rate in this area is about 10 per cent and the average household income is just under $25,000. About 50 per cent of the area's residents have not completed high school.

Argyle is home to the Tuna Sport Fishing Museum in Wedgeport and a re-created Historic Acadien village at West Pubnico. Nova Scotia Power is considering locating a wind farm in the riding.


Political History: Although its political history is brief (created in 1981) Argyle has the distinction of often picking the winning government side. It has swung back and forth between the Liberals and Conservatives.

2003: PC Chris d'Entremont took 48 per cent of the vote with 2,345 votes. LIB Aldric d'Entremont got 1,946 votes and NDP Charles Muise got 595 votes.
1999: PC Neil LeBlanc took 77 per cent of the vote with 4,060. LIB Karen Krafve got 820 and NDP Belinda Tucker got 34 votes.
1998: PC Neil LeBlanc beat LIB Allister Surette by 1,200 votes. NDP Dianne Crowell finished third with 11 per cent of the vote.
1993: LIB Allister Surette beat PC Neil LeBlanc by less than 500 votes. NDP DeeDee Daigle was third.
1988: PC Neil LeBlanc beat LIB Rick Murphy.
1984: PC
1981: LIB

Voter Turnout: 84 per cent in 2003.


District Profiles

Overall Election Results
PartyElectedLeadingTotalVote Share
PC230 2339.57%
GRN00 0 2.33%
Last Update:June 19, 4:26:45 PM ADT

District Map

District map - 03 Argyle

From Elections N.S.:
External link opens in a new window03 Argyle (2.62 mb - PDF)

(External link opens in a new window External links will open in a new window. Acrobat Reader required - download free Acrobat Reader. The CBC does not endorse and is not responsible for the content of external sites.)
^ Top of page