Nova Scotia Votes 2006
Main > District Profiles > District Details

District Profiles

DISTRICT: Annapolis
CandidatePartyVote CountVote ShareElected
Stephen McNeilLIB466856.2%X
Blair C. HannamPC204124.57%
Malcolm John MacKenzieNDP139116.75%
Ken McGowanGREEN2062.48%
June 19, 4:26:45 PM ADT 1 of 1 polls reporting




Current MLA: Stephen McNeil (LIB)

Riding Profile: Annapolis borders on the Bay of Fundy and includes some of the oldest historic sites in Canada, the recreation of Champlain's Habitation at Port Royal and Fort Anne built by the Loyalists in 1605.

The riding includes much of Annapolis County and the towns of Annapolis Royal, Bridgetown and Middleton in the north. The majority of employment is in the services, sales, and tourism sectors.

Expansion is underway at the community college campuses in Middletown and Lawrencetown and new housing for seniors and low-income families is underway in Middleton. Agriculture is important in this part of the Annapolis Valley but the region's largest employer is government– through the school boards and small community hospitals.

The population of Annapolis is 19,180– a drop of 10 per cent in the last five years. The average family income is $21,150 and while 34 per cent of the people have some post-secondary training, an even higher number, 43 per cent, haven't completed high school.


Issues: Out-migration of young people, job creation, roads, downsizing the community hospital in Middleton, opposition to a quarry on Digby Neck in adjacent riding, car insurance.


Political History: In 2003, this was a rematch between the PC incumbent and the LIB candidate who lost the seat in 1999. The riding has traditionally swung back and forth between the Liberals and Conservatives and 2003 proved true to that formula. "Annapolis" was created in 1993 when a PC riding, Annapolis East was married to half a Liberal one, Annapolis West.

2003: LIB Stephen McNeil won 4,522 votes, beating PC Frank Chipman who got 2,795 votes. Adrian Nette of the NDP received 1,395.
1999: PC Frank Chipman polled 4,026 to beat LIB Stephen McNeil at 3,265. Tom Clahane of the NDP received 1,708.
1998: LIB Laurie Montgomery defeated PC Basil Stewart by 250 votes in a byelection after the incumbent died.
1993: LIB Earle Rafuse beat PC Greg Kerr by 3,634 votes.
1978-1988: PC Greg Kerr represented Annapolis West a riding previously held by LIB Peter Nicholson for 20 years.
1988: LIB Earle Rafuse defeated PC Graham Smith in Annapolis East. The riding was previously held for 20 years by PC Gerald Sheehy.

Voter Turnout: 71 per cent in 2003.


District Profiles

Overall Election Results
PartyElectedLeadingTotalVote Share
PC230 2339.57%
GRN00 0 2.33%
Last Update:June 19, 4:26:45 PM ADT

District Map

District map - 01 Annapolis

From Elections N.S.:
External link opens in a new window01 Annapolis (2.19 mb - PDF)

(External link opens in a new window External links will open in a new window. Acrobat Reader required - download free Acrobat Reader. The CBC does not endorse and is not responsible for the content of external sites.)
^ Top of page