HomeRadioTelevisionLocal ContactSearchHelp
Nova Scotia Votes 2003

 Indepth Features
 Parties and Leaders
 District Profiles
 Reporter's Notebook
 News Archive
 Voter Resources
 Your View
  Main > District Profiles > District Details
Riding Profiles
Candidate Party Vote Count Pop. Vote X
Murray Scott Conservative 4899 71.7% X
Harriet McCready Liberal 1189 17.4%
R. Scott McKee New Democrat 745 10.9%
 Last Update Tue Aug 5 10:44:24 ADT 2003 43 of 43 polls reporting




Liberal: Harriet McCready
NDP: Scott McKee
PC: Murray Scott

Current MLA: Murray Scott, (PC) Speaker

Riding Profile: Cumberland South stretches from Ski Wentworth in the east to Advocate Harbour along the Minas Basin in the west. The largely rural riding includes the southern part of Cumberland County as well as the towns of Oxford, Springhill and Parrsboro. It's home to the only toll highway in N.S.

The population is 15,460 and the average income is $20,950. The major employers are the hospitals and school boards followed by several large manufacturers--Oxford Frozen Foods, Parrsboro Metal Fabricators and Ropak, a plastics firm in Springhill.

The area is also building a reputation as a tourism destination thanks to the Anne Murray Center in Springhill and the Joggins Fossil CLiffs and Fundy Geological Museum in Parrsboro.

Unemployment remains stubbornly high at over 11 per cent. Educational levels are lower than the provincial average.



Issues: Poor secondary roads affecting tourism, car insurance, Sunday shopping,centralization of services in Halifax, availability of medical services (hospitals and doctors).


Political History: Cumberland South was created from all of Cumberland Centre and nearly all of Cumberland West in 1993. Cumberland Centre was held by Liberal Guy Brown from 1974 until 1993 and Brown then won Cumberland South in 1993.

Cumberland West was held by the PCs for 20 years until LIB Ross Bragg won in 1988. Personal popularity tends to overshadow party loyalty in this neck of the woods.

1999: PC Murray Scott of Springhill took 71 per cent of the popular vote with 5,527. LIB MIke Uberoi was second with 1,000 votes and NDP Scott McKee had 941.
1998: PC MUrray Scott defeated LIB Mike Uberoi by 2,561 votes.
1993: LIB Guy Brown defeated PC Mac Bennett by 5143 votes.

Voter Turnout: 74 per cent in 1999.




to top

 Overall Election Results
Party E L T Pop. Vote %
PC 25 0 25 36.33%
NDP 15 0 15 31.01%
LIB 12 0 12 31.44%
OTH 0 0 0 1.22%
 Last Update Tue Aug 5 10:44:24 ADT 2003


Pop Quiz Indepth Features
This election just got bootylicious. Read on to find out why.
Full story >>
(This will open in a separate window. Flash plug-in required )


Indepth Features Indepth Features
Redistribution has changed the provincial political map.
Full story >>


Campaign Intelligence Campaign Intelligence
Join Dan Leger for a regular political checkup. Today he looks at brass knuckles. more >>


Reporter's Notebook
Reporter's Notebook
Jennifer Henderson has this look at the NDP insiders.


10 Promises Indepth Features
From the NDP’s seven-point plan to the PC booklet of 204 promises, we’ve gone over the fine print. Full story >>
(This will open in a separate window. Flash plug-in required )


For the Record
For the Record
Listen to the party leaders in their own words. more>>


Send Us Your View

Send Us Your View
CBC wants to hear from you. Send us your view about the election, the party platforms and leaders, and issues during the campaign. more>>


CBC Archives
CBC Archives
Nova Scotia's 'Wizard of Oz' election
more >>
Watch the Leaders debate 2003

CBC hosted the only leaders debate of this campaign. (runs 1:29:46)

Terms of Use | Privacy | Copyright | Other Policies
Copyright © CBC 2003