Nova Scotia Votes: 2012 Municipal Elections

Voter Toolkit

Nova Scotia voters will be going to the polls on October 20th to elect local mayors, members of their local councils, and school boards. Our Voter Toolkit includes helpful information and links to make the voting process easier.

Important dates

Regular Polls

  • October 20 2012 8:00am – 7:00 pm
  • Look for more information about your polling station location, in your local newspaper or on your Town or Municipality's website.

Advanced Polls – All of NS

  • Optional days on Oct 11, 13th – 12:00 – 8:00 pm
  • Mandatory Advance Poll on Oct 16th 12:00 – 8:00 pm

To vote

  • You must be 18 or older
  • A Canadian Citizen on ordinary polling day
  • Must be a resident of the area you are voting in for over three months before polling day, and continue to reside there on polling day

You must register:

  • Contact your returning officer prior to list being finalized.
  • Or get a certificate of eligibility can be obtained from returning officer
  • You can be added to the voters list on the election day or at advance poll by taking a oath affirmation and showing photo ID with your name and address
  • Students: Must be able to demonstrate where they live in order to be eligible to vote. They must also meet the three month residency rule

The local governments in Nova Scotia include

  • 3 Regional Municipalities
  • 30 Towns
  • 21 Rural Municipalities
  • 22 Villages

General Information

Mayors, councillors and School board members are elected on the same day, for four year terms.


  • Every voter has the ability to vote for the Mayor
  • The 3 regional municipalities must have a mayor, all towns have a mayor, and some rural municipalities have a mayor


  • The Warden is selected by other councillors only
  • Rural Municipalities only have Wardens
  • Warden has same powers as Mayor
  • Term of the Mayor is determined by the Council – in many municipalities the term is 2 years


  • Every voter has the ability to elect a councillor
  • The number of councillors vary between municipalities
  • Councillors are elected every 4 years

Story Social Media

End of Story Social Media

Show previous slide

Don't Miss

[an error occurred while processing this directive]
Show next slide