Stormy Iqaluit

After starting the week with a blizzard, Iqaluit and the rest of the S Baffin area are in for more rough weather. 

A storm system looks to move into Iqaluit tomorrow morning . In terms of this system's track, it looks to head straight through Baffin Island and toward Foxe Basin as opposed to dying out in Baffin Bay.

This system will mean a few things for the folks out East. First, heavy snowfall in Iqaluit Kimmirut and Cape Dorset. Tomorrow Iqaluit could pick up 15+ cm and more on Friday. Also, temperatures will start to rise late day Thursday and into Friday along the east of Baffin Island (Iqaluit, Pangnirtung) to near 0 degrees or just above as the area passes into the warm sector of the low. This temp increase will mean a lot of heavy snow. Also the system will kick up wind speeds not only on Baffin Island but also on the west side of the low through the Kivalliq so blizzard or near blizzard conditions are expected.

More on this storm on Northbeat tonight at 5 pm PT, 6 pm MT, 8 pm ET.

« Back to Blog

Weather Warnings

Nunavut Northwest Territories Yukon British Columbia Alberta Saskatchewan Manitoba Northern Ontario Southern Ontario Northern Quebec Southern Quebec New Brunswick Prince Edward Island Nova Scotia Newfoundland and Labrador