District Profiles

CandidatePartyVote CountVote ShareElected
Elizabeth MarshallPC489283.04%X
Cynthia Layden-BarronLIB5138.71%
Kyle ReesNDP4868.25%
October 9, 10:58:12 PM NDT 39 of 39 polls reporting
About these figures:
Unofficial results were updated at the time shown. For more recent results, visit Elections NL. The CBC does not endorse and is not responsible for the content of external sites. External links will open in a new window.


LiberalCynthia Layden-Barron
PCElizabeth Marshall
NDPKyle Rees

Current MHA: Elizabeth Marshall (PC)

District profile: Topsail lies on eastern shore of Conception Bay and includes parts of the city of Mount Pearl and the towns of Conception Bay South and Paradise. The residential mix is suburban and sometimes rural, although many residents commute to St. John's. The 2007 redistribution changed the district significantly. Fifty-four per cent of it was retained, 32 per cent moved to Conception Bay South, 10 per cent moved to Mount Pearl North and four per cent shifted to Conception Bay East-Bell Island. The district also gained 16 per cent of both Waterford Valley and Conception Bay East-Bell Island.

Population: 12,011

Political history: Topsail was created in a 1995 redistribution, incorporating much of Conception Bay South.

2003: Elizabeth Marshall trounced Liberal incumbent Ralph Wiseman by 3,000 votes.

1996-2003: Wiseman won Topsail in two elections, with substantial margins over PC candidates.

1989-1996: Liberal Patt Cowan represented the former district of Conception Bay South for two terms. She defeated former Tory cabinet minister John Butt in 1989, and served in the Clyde Wells cabinet.

1979-1989: Butt won the Conception Bay South district from Liberal John Nolan in 1979 and held it for 10 years through three elections. He served in the Brian Peckford cabinet.

1975: Nolan won Conception Bay South by a 50-vote margin, defeating incumbent Tory Gordon Dawe.

(The CBC does not endorse and is not responsible for the content of external sites. External links will open in a new window.External link opens in a new window)

Go to the Top

Overall Election Results
PartyElectedLeadingTotalVote Share
Last Update:October 9, 10:58:12 PM NDT

District Profiles

N.L. Votes Headlines »

Sorry - we can't find that page

Sorry, we can't find the page you requested.

  1. Please check the URL in the address bar, or ...
  2. Use the navigation links at left to explore our site, or ...
  3. Enter a term in the Quick Search box at top, or ...
  4. Visit our site map page

In a few moments, you will be taken to our site map page, which will help you find what you looking for.

more »