District Profiles

CandidatePartyVote CountVote ShareElected
Felix CollinsPC308679.17%X
Jennifer CoultasNDP81220.83%
October 9, 10:58:12 PM NDT 47 of 47 polls reporting
About these figures:
Unofficial results were updated at the time shown. For more recent results, visit Elections NL. The CBC does not endorse and is not responsible for the content of external sites. External links will open in a new window.


PCFelix Collins
NDPJennifer Coultas

Current MHA: Felix Collins (PC)

District Profile: The district was created in 1995 from parts of the former Placentia, St. Mary’s-the Capes and Harbour Main districts. An economically troubled area, Placentia and St. Mary’s includes the former U.S. naval base at Argentia, as well as Voisey Bay Nickel's planned processing facility at Long Harbour. Communities include: Admiral's Beach, Angel's Cove, Argentia, Branch, Coote Pond, Colinet, Cuslett, Dunville, Forest Field, Freshwater, Fox Harbour, Gaskiers, Great Barasway, Harricott, Jerseyside, Little Barasway, Mall Bay, Mitchell's Brook, Mount Carmel, New Bridge, North Harbour, O'Donnells, Patrick's Cove, Peter's River, Placentia, Point Verde, Point Le Haye, Point Lance, Riverhead, Ship Cove, Ship Harbour, St. Bride's, St. Catherine's, St. Mary's, St. Joseph's, St. Shott's, St. Stephen's and St. Vincent's. The district remained mostly intact in the 2007 redistribution, while gaining small parts of the old Bellevue, Ferryland and Harbour Main-Whitbourne districts.

Population: 11,115

Political History: A Tory stronghold, but one with a twist. Many constituents backed rebel MHA Fabian Manning, who was ejected from the PC caucus in 2005 after splitting with Premier Danny Williams on fisheries policies.

Feb. 21, 2006: PC Felix Collins defeated independent Nick Careen by 606 votes in a byelection, called after Fabian Manning resigned to run federally.

2003: PC incumbent Fabian Manning won a convincing victory, taking in more than 65 per cent of the vote to beat Liberal Kevin J. Power. Manning was ejected from the PC caucus in May 2005 and sat as an independent.

1999: Manning, a former MHA, regained a legislative seat in 1999, defeating Liberal Anthony Sparrow by 641 votes.

1996: The Liberals gained the newly amalgamated seat when Sparrow defeated Manning, the incumbent from St. Mary’s-The Capes, by 194 votes.

1993: Manning defeated Liberal Fred Rowe by 1, 464 votes in St. Mary’s-The Capes.

(The CBC does not endorse and is not responsible for the content of external sites. External links will open in a new window.External link opens in a new window)

Go to the Top

Overall Election Results
PartyElectedLeadingTotalVote Share
Last Update:October 9, 10:58:12 PM NDT

District Profiles

N.L. Votes Headlines »

Sorry - we can't find that page

Sorry, we can't find the page you requested.

  1. Please check the URL in the address bar, or ...
  2. Use the navigation links at left to explore our site, or ...
  3. Enter a term in the Quick Search box at top, or ...
  4. Visit our site map page

In a few moments, you will be taken to our site map page, which will help you find what you looking for.

more »