District Profiles

CandidatePartyVote CountVote ShareElected
Ray HunterPC262069.22%X
Aubrey SmithLIB97325.71%
John L. WhelanNDP1925.07%
October 9, 10:58:12 PM NDT 31 of 31 polls reporting
About these figures:
Unofficial results were updated at the time shown. For more recent results, visit Elections NL. The CBC does not endorse and is not responsible for the content of external sites. External links will open in a new window.


PCRay Hunter
LiberalAubrey Smith
NDPJohn L. Whelan

current mha: ray hunter (pc), who is currently windsor-springdale mha.

district profile: in central newfoundland, on the shore of notre dame bay. it includes part of the town of Grand Falls-Windsor. Other communities include South Brook, Beaumont as well as Triton Island, Pelley's Island, Long Island and Sunday Cove Island.

District was created by the 2007 redistribution. The bulk of the territory comes from the former Windsor-Springdale district and includes a small part of the former Grand Falls-Buchans district.

Population: 9,960.

Political history: Has had a historic Liberal constituency, but has also favoured Tory candidates. A series of redistributions have made following voting patterns difficult.


Formed from the former districts of Green Bay and Windsor-Buchans. Green Bay was the district in which PC Brian Peckford was MHA from 1972 until his resignation in 1989. He became premier in 1979.

2003: Hunter took over 60 per cent of the vote to beat Liberal Barry Oake.

1999: Hunter beat Liberal Graham Flight in a five-way race by more than 1,000 votes.

1996: In the new district of Windsor-Springdale, Flight defeated PC Alvin Hewlett, the incumbent from Green Bay, by 16 votes.

1993: Flight defeated Hunter again, this time by 733 votes.

1989: Liberal Clyde Wells ran unsuccessfully in Humber East, and Flight came back and defeated Hunter by 172 votes.

1987: In the 1987 byelection, Wells defeated PC Sean Power by 428 votes.

1975 - 1987: In Windsor-Buchans, Flight won in 1975 and 1979. He was defeated in 1982 and re-elected in 1985. Flight resigned in 1987 to allow new Liberal Leader Wells to run in a byelection.

(The CBC does not endorse and is not responsible for the content of external sites. External links will open in a new window.External link opens in a new window)

Go to the Top

Overall Election Results
PartyElectedLeadingTotalVote Share
Last Update:October 9, 10:58:12 PM NDT

District Profiles

N.L. Votes Headlines »

Sorry - we can't find that page

Sorry, we can't find the page you requested.

  1. Please check the URL in the address bar, or ...
  2. Use the navigation links at left to explore our site, or ...
  3. Enter a term in the Quick Search box at top, or ...
  4. Visit our site map page

In a few moments, you will be taken to our site map page, which will help you find what you looking for.

more »