District Profiles

CandidatePartyVote CountVote ShareElected
Darin KingPC356380.03%X
Rod CakeLIB88919.97%
October 9, 10:58:12 PM NDT 35 of 35 polls reporting
About these figures:
Unofficial results were updated at the time shown. For more recent results, visit Elections NL. The CBC does not endorse and is not responsible for the content of external sites. External links will open in a new window.


LiberalRod Cake
PCDarin King

Current MHA: Judy Foote (Liberal), not seeking re-election.

District profile: Grand Bank covers the southernmost part of the Burin Peninsula. The fishery, particularly deep-sea activity, has historically driven the economy of towns like Grand Bank, Fortune and Lawn. Mining was once prominent in St. Lawrence area, but no longer. Other communities include: Epworth, Frenchman's Cove, Grand Beach, Garnish, L'Anse au Loup, Lamaline, Lewin’s Cove, Little St. Lawrence, Lord's Cove, Point au Gaul, Point May, St. Lawrence, Salmonier, Taylor's Bay, Tides Brook and Winterland. The district shrank slightly in the 2007 redistribution, with some of the northeast area absorbed into the new Burin-Placentia West district.

Population: 10,060.

Political history:

2003: Liberal incumbent Judy Foote beat PC hopeful Darin King by just 50 votes.

1999: Foote was re-elected, defeating PC John Bolt.

1996: Foote, who had been communications director under departing premier Clyde Wells, defeated Herb Edwards, who represented the PC party after MHA Bill Matthews opted to enter federal politics. (Foote is now seeking to replace Matthews in the House of Commons. She has won the federal Liberal nomination in Random-Burin-St. George.)

1982-1993: In 1982, Matthews defeated incumbent Liberal Leslie Thoms. Matthews held on to the seat for a number of years, defeating Liberals Maxwell Snook in 1985, Graham Wood in 1989 and Foote in 1993.

1979: Thoms defeated Tory Clarence Rogers by 1,785 votes.

1966-1979: Alex Hickman, later a Newfoundland Supreme Court chief justice, held the seat for 13 years, during which he was a key minister in the Frank Moores cabinet.

(The CBC does not endorse and is not responsible for the content of external sites. External links will open in a new window.External link opens in a new window)

Go to the Top

Overall Election Results
PartyElectedLeadingTotalVote Share
Last Update:October 9, 10:58:12 PM NDT

District Profiles

N.L. Votes Headlines »

Sorry - we can't find that page

Sorry, we can't find the page you requested.

  1. Please check the URL in the address bar, or ...
  2. Use the navigation links at left to explore our site, or ...
  3. Enter a term in the Quick Search box at top, or ...
  4. Visit our site map page

In a few moments, you will be taken to our site map page, which will help you find what you looking for.

more »