District Profiles

CandidatePartyVote CountVote ShareElected
Kevin O'BrienPC359975.1%X
Stephanie WinsorLIB119324.9%
October 9, 10:58:12 PM NDT 34 of 34 polls reporting
About these figures:
Unofficial results were updated at the time shown. For more recent results, visit Elections NL. The CBC does not endorse and is not responsible for the content of external sites. External links will open in a new window.


PCKevin O'Brien
LiberalStephanie Winsor

Current MHA: Kevin O’Brien (PC)

District profile: It includes the town of Gander and the communities of Appleton, Glenwood and Benton. Gander, which has an airport and military history, is a service centre for a large region of the province. The district changed little in the 2007 redistribution. The district's western border expanded to absorb part of the shrunken Exploits riding, but the other boundaries remained virtually unchanged.

Population: 11, 249.

Political history: Voters in Gander have swung between the Liberal and Progressive Conservative columns, often electing members who sat on the government benches.

2003: Tory Kevin O'Brien took the seat in 2003 with a win over Liberal Dianne Crewe. Liberal incumbent Sandra Kelly opted not to seek re-election.

1999: Kelly defeated O’Brien by 138 votes.

1996: Kelly defeated PC Dan Crummell. Kelly, the former mayor of Gander, succeeded Gary Vey, who resigned the seat earlier in the year.

1995: After Liberal Winston Baker resigned, Vey defeated PC Dan Crummell in an October byelection.

1985-1995: Baker held the seat for 10 years. A one-time NDP candidate, Baker lost the Liberal leadership in 1987 to Clyde Wells. When the Liberals formed the government in 1989, Baker held important roles, including government house leader, Treasury Board president and finance minister.

1979-1985: PC Hazel Newhook became (with Lynn Verge) one of the first women appointed to cabinet after winning the 1979 election. She defeated Liberal Winston Baker in 1982; he would unseat her three years later.

1967-1979: PC Harold Collins made a breakthrough for the Tories in a 1967 byelection, and held the seat (while serving in Frank Moores' cabinet) until his retirement in 1979.

(The CBC does not endorse and is not responsible for the content of external sites. External links will open in a new window.External link opens in a new window)

Go to the Top

Overall Election Results
PartyElectedLeadingTotalVote Share
Last Update:October 9, 10:58:12 PM NDT

District Profiles

N.L. Votes Headlines »

Sorry - we can't find that page

Sorry, we can't find the page you requested.

  1. Please check the URL in the address bar, or ...
  2. Use the navigation links at left to explore our site, or ...
  3. Enter a term in the Quick Search box at top, or ...
  4. Visit our site map page

In a few moments, you will be taken to our site map page, which will help you find what you looking for.

more »