District Profiles

CandidatePartyVote CountVote ShareElected
Clayton ForseyPC339672.39%X
Jody FanceyLIB129527.61%
October 9, 10:58:12 PM NDT 33 of 33 polls reporting
About these figures:
Unofficial results were updated at the time shown. For more recent results, visit Elections NL. The CBC does not endorse and is not responsible for the content of external sites. External links will open in a new window.


LiberalJody Fancey
PCClayton Forsey

Current MHA: Clayton Forsey (PC)

District profile: In central Newfoundland on Bay of Exploits, it lies between the Trans-Canada Highway in the south and Notre Dame Bay in the north. Most of the population lives in the southern centres of Botwood and Bishop's Falls.

Forestry is the major source of income.

To the north, Exploits includes communities in Notre Dame Bay such as Cottrell's Cove, but most of the population lives in southern centres such as Botwood and Bishop's Falls. Communities include: Bishop's Falls, Bishop's Falls South, Botwood, Charles Brook, Cottrell's Cove, Fortune Harbour, Glover’s Harbour, Leading Tickles West, Moore's Cove, Northern Arm, Peterview, Phillip's Head, Pleasantview, Point Leamington, Point of Bay, Ritter's Arm and Wooddale.

No change in the 2007 redistribution.

Population: 10,166.

Political History: The PCs reclaimed this former stronghold in a 2005 byelection, after former Liberal premier Roger Grimes retired.

2005: PC Clayton Forsey defeated Liberal George Saunders by 647 votes in a byelection.

2003: Grimes, running as the incumbent premier, won a fifth term, beating Forsey by 872 votes.

1999: Grimes defeated PC Gonzo Gillingham.

1996: Grimes defeated PC Rod Stockley.

1993: Grimes defeated PC Paul Cooper.

1989: Grimes, who had been defeated in 1979 in Grand Falls, ran in Exploits and defeated Cooper by 49 votes.

1976-1989: PC Hugh Twomey represented Exploits, winning the seat first in a byelection after results from the 1975 election were invalidated. Twomey, a physician who served as minister of health under Premier Brian Peckford, won the 1979, 1982 and 1985 elections by wide margins.

1975: Liberal Stephen Mulrooney defeated Twomey by nine votes. The results were later invalidated.

(The CBC does not endorse and is not responsible for the content of external sites. External links will open in a new window.External link opens in a new window)

Go to the Top

Overall Election Results
PartyElectedLeadingTotalVote Share
Last Update:October 9, 10:58:12 PM NDT

District Profiles

N.L. Votes Headlines »

Sorry - we can't find that page

Sorry, we can't find the page you requested.

  1. Please check the URL in the address bar, or ...
  2. Use the navigation links at left to explore our site, or ...
  3. Enter a term in the Quick Search box at top, or ...
  4. Visit our site map page

In a few moments, you will be taken to our site map page, which will help you find what you looking for.

more »