District Profiles

CandidatePartyVote CountVote ShareElected
Roger FitzgeraldPC1100%X
Clayton HobbsLIB00%
October 9, 10:58:12 PM NDT 1 of 1 polls reporting
About these figures:
Unofficial results were updated at the time shown. For more recent results, visit Elections NL. The CBC does not endorse and is not responsible for the content of external sites. External links will open in a new window.


PCRoger Fitzgerald

Current MLA: Roger Fitzgerald (PC).

District profile: A rural district with dependence on fishing, forestry and agriculture. Tourism has had emerging importance in the local economy.

Communities include: Bonavista, Birchy Cove, Bloomfield, Brooklyn, Charleston, Catalina, Duntara, Elliston, Hodderville, Jameston, Keels, Kings Cove, Knights Cove, Lethbridge, Little Catalina, Lower Amherst Cove, Melrose, Middle Amherst Cove, Morley's Siding, Newman's Cove, Open Hall, Plate Cove East, Plate Cove West, Portland, Port Union, Princeton, Red Cliff, Siding, Spillar's Cove, Southern Bay, Stock Cove, Summerville, Sweet Bay, Tickle Cove, Upper Amherst Cove, Winter Brook.

The district remained mostly intact after the 2007 redistribution, retaining 94 per cent of its original territory.

Population: 10,014.

Political history:

2003: PC incumbent Roger Fitzgerald cruised to victory, winning almost 80 per cent of the total vote to beat for Liberal hopeful and former Bonavista mayor Betty Fitzgerald (no relation).

1999: Fitzgerald defeated Liberal George Clements by 2,728 votes.

1996: After a redistribution, Fitzgerald squared off against Kay Young, the Liberal member of neighbouring Terra Nova district, winning the race by 2,307 votes.

1993: Ftizgerald defeated Liberal MHA Aubrey Gover.

1989: Gover defeated Fitzgerald by 20 votes, in one of several tight races that brought the Liberals to power.

1959 - 1989: From 1959 to 1971, Bonavista South was home to Liberal Ross Barbour. He was succeeded by the colourful PC politician, Jim Morgan. A cabinet minister under premiers Frank Moores and Brian Peckford, Morgan held the seat through four elections before retiring in 1989.

(The CBC does not endorse and is not responsible for the content of external sites. External links will open in a new window.External link opens in a new window)

Go to the Top

Overall Election Results
PartyElectedLeadingTotalVote Share
Last Update:October 9, 10:58:12 PM NDT

District Profiles

N.L. Votes Headlines »

Sorry - we can't find that page

Sorry, we can't find the page you requested.

  1. Please check the URL in the address bar, or ...
  2. Use the navigation links at left to explore our site, or ...
  3. Enter a term in the Quick Search box at top, or ...
  4. Visit our site map page

In a few moments, you will be taken to our site map page, which will help you find what you looking for.

more »