District Profiles

CandidatePartyVote CountVote ShareElected
Harry HardingPC288367.76%X
Winston CarterLIB129230.36%
Howard E. ParsonsNDP801.88%
October 9, 10:58:12 PM NDT 39 of 39 polls reporting
About these figures:
Unofficial results were updated at the time shown. For more recent results, visit Elections NL. The CBC does not endorse and is not responsible for the content of external sites. External links will open in a new window.


PCHarry Harding
LiberalWinston Carter
NDPHoward E. Parsons

Current MHA: Harry Harding (PC).

District profile: Bonavista North was Joey Smallwood country during the Confederation battle and traditionally Liberal until 1975. Redistribution added the southern part of Fogo district, which had been Liberal from Confederation until 1989. The 2007 redistribution added a small chunk of the former Lewisporte district, but the borders were otherwise essentially unchanged.

The main industry is fishing.

Population: 10,064.

Political history: Predominantly Liberal area, with a few PC intrusions, since Confederation.

2003: PC Harry Harding won the seat, beating Liberal Churence Rogers with nearly 60 per cent of the total vote.

2002: Liberal incumbent Beaton Tulk resigned his seat to run unsuccessfully for the Liberals in the federal riding of Gander-Grand Falls, after George Baker was appointed to the Senate. Tulk tried to retake his old district in the July 2002 byelection, but lost to Harding by 884 votes.

1999: Tulk defeated PC Jim Coose, taking 75 per cent of the vote. He became interim Liberal leader and premier when Brian Tobin resigned in October 2000 to return to federal politics. After Roger Grimes became premier in February 2001, Tulk became deputy premier and industry minister.

1996: Following redistribution, Tulk, who had represented Fogo, ran in Bonavista North, defeating PC Sam Winsor.

1993: Liberal Tom Lush beat PC John Ackerman by 1,952 votes.

1989: Lush defeated PC Eli Cross by 1,119 votes. He was appointed Speaker on May 25, 1989.

1985: Lush, who had resigned his Terra Nova seat in 1983, re-entered politics to beat beat incumbent Tory Cross.

1982: Cross defeated Liberal leader and incumbent MHA Len Stirling, in a Tory rout that left the Liberals with a small caucus.

1979: Stirling defeated Cross. In 1980, Stirling became leader of the Liberal party.

(The CBC does not endorse and is not responsible for the content of external sites. External links will open in a new window.External link opens in a new window)

Go to the Top

Overall Election Results
PartyElectedLeadingTotalVote Share
Last Update:October 9, 10:58:12 PM NDT

District Profiles

N.L. Votes Headlines »

Sorry - we can't find that page

Sorry, we can't find the page you requested.

  1. Please check the URL in the address bar, or ...
  2. Use the navigation links at left to explore our site, or ...
  3. Enter a term in the Quick Search box at top, or ...
  4. Visit our site map page

In a few moments, you will be taken to our site map page, which will help you find what you looking for.

more »